Teens Tell Their Story: An Interview With Meg

Last week’s Teens Tell Their Story’s ‘topic’ was to interview a fellow blogger and I paired up with Meg from Marguerite. I really recommend you to go check out her blog; her writing is beautiful!

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging to put down my personal poems and essays, you know. To encapsulate my emotions somehow.

Do you want to publish your poems in the future?

Okay I’m going to steal a question from Caitlin haha: If you had to describe your country in as little words as possible, what would you say?
If describe the Philippines as hot and humid as hell. Also, colorful—like our culture and islands and the people. What about you, how’d you describe your country?

The Philippines sound amazing! I’d love to visit one day

Yes it is, the beaches here are amazing :-) and we have old cities back when we were colonized by the Spaniards. It’s pretty cool

How many poems have you roughly written?
I think I’ve written over 200 poems, most are in my head.

Oh that’s a lot! Would you like to make a living of poems one day?

What’s you favourite book?

My favourite book is a tie between the Catcher in the Rye and Peter Pan.

What’s your favourite book to movie adaptation?

Paper Towns! I like how the ending is different from the book, it gives more closure.

What’s the weirdest book you’ve read?

Somehow, this book called the cement garden was a bit weird (idk). But I ended up liking it. The story was weird yet well written :-) it’s by Ian McEwan.

Who is your favourite poet?

Right now, my favourite poet is Sappho.
What would you recommend to someone who’s new to poetry?
 Have you heard of Lang leav? Her poems are beautiful. And the poems berlinartparasites post on their page are nice too

I’ll look into those! How did you get into poetry?

 Hm, I really don’t know. I just started reading poetry aside from in school. Maybe because of the internet, you know, like on tumblr and poetry books in the book store haha.

Do you show other people your work? 

I show my work to my close friends. It’s sort of private irl. Some of my not so close friends see my work because I write it in my journal, and they flip through it lol
Lately I’ve performed two poems in class and I got a pretty good reaction though.

Oh that’s awesome! :) If you could meet any author dead/alive, who’d you want to meet?

 J. D. Salinger, the author of the Catcher in the Rye :-) I just want to have casual conversation with him over a cup of coffee. Haha

What would you ask/tell him?
 Haha, I’ll just listen to anything he says. Like he can rant about life and stuff. I’ll tell him how much I love his work :-)

That was the interview! It was fun talking to you Meg! I hope all your dreams come true; of poems and novels, of traveling through Europe… and maybe going back in time to have that cup of coffee with Salinger ;)

signature

7 thoughts on “Teens Tell Their Story: An Interview With Meg

Send an owl

