Snazzy Snippets – NaNoWriMo edition

snazzy-snippets-graphic

Snazzy Snippets is a bi-monthly link-up hosted by by Emily and Alyssa in which writers share snippets of their writing of 500 words or less!

My current WIP is called The Army of Quermo and is about Rose and Damien (though Rose is the protagonist) who are ‘chosen’ to prevent the devil from returning to earth. This means they have to fight a lot of different demons, who are trying to bring their master back.

A snippet without dialogue

excerpt6

Petra is often observing her fellow students and the teachers, and writes down her observations in a notebook, which Ashelle has dubbed the ‘Burn Book’ referring to Mean Girls.

A snippet featuring a friend/family member of your protagonist

excerpt4

This snippet features both of Rose’s best friends: Ashelle and Damien.

A snippet that took FOREVER to write
excerpt5
The fight scene with the demon Arasmar took me a while to figure out, but since the entire scene is pretty long I just chose one paragraph to share.
Edit: JUST NOTICED THE TYPO IN THIS SNIPPET (‘for her another eye’ instead of ‘for her other eye’)
And those are my snippets! Did you do Snazzy Snippets? Leave a link in the comments so I can check it out! :) 
signature
32 thoughts on “Snazzy Snippets – NaNoWriMo edition

  1. YOUR NAMES THOUGH. They’re all fantastic (and funnily enough, Petra and Damien are both names that appeared on other linkups, but that’s because they’re fantastic) and I’m so jealous of your naming abilities. I love the dynamic between the characters, and also all the fanfiction/fanart/MULAN YAY that’s mentioned :D

    Thanks for linking up!

  2. Beautiful snippets <3 My favorite one is the last one (forever paid off). You should share more so I can fangirl over your work, okay? ; D Also, keep kicking ass at NaNo – you got this in the bag.

    • Thank you! <3 OH NO I JUST NOTICED A TYPO IN THAT LAST SNIPPET 'for her another eye' instead of 'for her other eye' *hangs head in shame* I will share more in my weekly wrap up this Sunday :D Haha I hope so. I haven't written anything yet today. Maybe I'll feel more like it after dinner!

      • It’s so weird, WordPress keeps deleting bits of comments in my notifications section :/ It looks like it only send you ‘thank you’ when I send ‘Thank you! <3 OH NO I JUST NOTICED A TYPO IN THAT LAST SNIPPET 'for her another eye' instead of 'for her other eye' *hangs head in shame* I will share more in my weekly wrap up this Sunday :D Haha I hope so. I haven't written anything yet today. Maybe I'll feel more like it after dinner!' I hope you're getting the entire message now :( WordPress is doing this way too often!

  3. Oh, I love this link-up! I’ve seen it around a lot lately! I would totally join in, except I’m COMPLETELY paranoid about sharing my writing. Like seriously it’s RIDICULOUS! I always encourage everyone else to share, though… Hmmm twisted logic…. It’s funny because we’ve always wanted to do a contest between you guys but also between us, but I never want to share it! What is this nonsense they call a practical thinker???
    -Amy

Send an owl

