Review: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Made You Up

Genre: Young adult | contemporary
Goodreads rating: 4.14
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal (Goodreads).

review

Made You Up is probably my favourite book I read this year, hands down. I wish I could’ve reviewed this earlier, but I read this at the beginning of last month and that was such a busy, crazy, stressful month I just didn’t have the time. I still remember it pretty well though, and I actually already reviewed it for the magazine we made at school (sadly it wasn’t placed – there were only so many pages and we all had to write four articles) so I think it’s still in my head. Besides, it made such a great impact on me I haven’t forgotten much yet.

So Made You Up is about schizophrenia, but it’s not. While Alex is schizophrenic, she’s much more than that and the book focuses on so much more than her mental illness. Alex is her own person besides the fact that she is schizophrenic, which I was so pleased with. I wanted to stand on a rooftop and share my happiness at full volume with everyone.

”I was a schizophrenic, not a damn invalid.”

TELL THEM ALEX

I finished this book so quickly. I just couldn’t stop turning the pages. It’s beautifully written; the characters are three-dimensional, beautiful, funny, realistic, flawed… THEY’RE MY NEW BABIES; there are so many plot twists oh my GAWD; THE SHIP IS SO CUTE; it’s about friendship and family and fitting in and JUST THIS BOOK GUYS I CAN’T NOT FANGIRL ABOUT IT.

While the romance was ADORABLE and fun to read and I just love it (OTP guys), it’s not the main focus of the book (just like schizophrenia isn’t). This book is about so much at the same time and it does it brilliantly. Also the friends Alex makes are just so precious. It just felt so realistic. Just like the romance is. They slowly become friends and then more. Also Miles is such a precious cutie I will protect him at all costs (so don’t worry you will NOT die during the zombie apocalypse. I will protect you Miles)

And did I mention there’s also a mystery aspect? LIKE CAN THIS BOOK CAN GET ANY BETTER?! It’s like my perfect book minus fantasy aspects (BUT I CAN LIVE WITH THAT). Guys this book is worthy of its breathtaking cover and all the hype. IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL I CAN’T. I’m so sorry this review is all over the place but… I just can’t. Favourite book of the year, hands down. I doubt I’ll read something more amazing than this (not counting rereads since I’m planning on rereading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone again next month).

Also can we fangirl about how Francesca Zappia favourited and retweeted this tweet?

Speaking of Francesca Zappia! Check out her DeviantArt for awesome Made You Up art!

And now I just want to reread it… Maybe I will be able to write a more structured review after rereading it haha (but I’ll probably be an even bigger mess so never mind).

HAVE YOU READ THIS GLORIOUS BOOK YET?! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR PICK IT UP PICK IT UP IT’S SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PERFECT EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER IT’S BEAUTIFUL AND PERFECT AND I CAN’T I THINK I WILL SERIOUSLY REREAD IT AFTER I’VE FINISHED MAGNUS CHASE 

signature

20 thoughts on “Review: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Send an owl

