Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

Genre: Young adult | sci-fi | fairytale retelling
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4
Goodreads rating: 4.60
My rating: ★★★★★

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST THREE BOOKS THEN WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE? No, that came out wrong. If you haven’t read the first three books yet, and you still want to, and you don’t want to be spoiled at all, I advice you to stop reading NOW!

summary

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

review

How do I even start this review? I’m very tempted to write this review in a list, since I have a feeling this will be a mess otherwise…

Let me start by saying that Winter was definitely worth the wait and a perfect conclusion to the series. Everything feels wrapped up, no questions are left unanswered, no plot holes, just a perfect ending (but is it a happy one or not? FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF HAHAHA *evil laugh*)

But let’s get down to business shall we? (kudos if you sang that) On Saturday I already wrote a post about my feels in gifs (WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD) so if you read that, you already know that I loved Winter a lot and that the fangirl levels were (still are actually) high.

I’m going to start with discussing the titular character and her love interest Jacin. If you’ve read my gif post, you may have noticed the lack of these two. Did I not love them? I loved Winter, she’s adorable, fun(ny), complex, interesting, kindhearted and while she’s definitely based on Snow White, she’s so much better than the original or the Disney version. My post just focused more on the others, because I’m more attached to them and they gave me a lot more feels since I’ve known them longer. Jacin though… I don’t know how I feel about Jacin. I do sort of like him, and he and Winter are cute together, but as a character? Meh. I’m not really a fan. I prefer Kai, Thorne and Wolf (especially the first two. Someone give them to me for my birthday).

While we’re still talking about Winter (the character, not the book. We’ll be talking about the book in the entire post), I loved the nods to the original fairytale. They were very subtle, but obvious if you’re familiar with the fairytale. I think my favourite was when Winter was cleaning up… somewhere (trying not to spoil is hard haha). I also loved how easy it is to forget that you’re reading a Snow White retelling (at least it was to me!). I was so immersed in everything else, that I forgot that certain things were going to happen (wow, can I get any more vague?).

Just like with Scarlet and Cress, I just couldn’t stop reading. I had to put it down, since I had homework to do. Plus I forced myself to, since I didn’t want it to be over! (I felt so empty once I had finished it haha. Still am in a massive reading slump as I’m writing this. With the emphasis on ‘as I’m writing this’. I hope to be out of it once this is published). There was so much going on, it felt like every chapter ended on a cliffhanger (maybe that was the case, I don’t exactly remember as there were many chapters) and I was just on the edge of my seat the entire time (figuratively. In reality I was lying on my ass). Even though I’m not really a fan of Jacin, all the povs were fun and interesting to read about (though I might have thought differently if Jacin had had more chapters, since he didn’t have that many). I just love that we get to read about EVERYTHING that’s going on. We see different sides, so we have the entire picture.

The other characters are amazing as always, so are the relationships and the dialogues between them. Levana got even crazier (is that even possible?). Reading about the resistance and the war against Levana gave me such a rush. Winter is just such an emotional rollercoaster, especially if you loved the first three books and are very emotionally involved in this series and attached to these characters. There’s so much I want to talk about, but

Have you read Winter yet? What did you think of it? I think Winter is one of my favourite series conclusions. I was so afraid that the ending would disappoint and ruin the entire series, BUT IT DIDN’T. So if you share those fears, don’t worry! Pick it up and start devouring this beauty.

signature

5 thoughts on “Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Send an owl

