The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

Thank you Analee for tagging me! It’s taken me a while, but better late than never right? Don’t forget to check out her blog!

A popular book or series that you didn’t like

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I really, really wanted to like this book, but nope. You can read my review here. I even changed my rating to two stars recently when I realised the 3-star rating was mostly because I didn’t want to give Sarah J. Maas a 2-star rating, but I realised that was ridiculous.

A popular book that everyone hates but you love

Like Analee I’ll go with The Selection series. I feel like people either love or hate this series, but I personally really enjoyed it. America may be annoying, but Maxon makes up for it.

A love triangle where your ship did not sail

The love triangle in the Wings series. I don’t even remember their names (lol), nor have I even read the last book (lost interest) but I found out the protagonist ends up with the guy I didn’t want her to end up with. Which made me lose even more interest. I really hated his guts. Though maybe I’d feel different if I reread the series (which I’m not planning on doing). I don’t even really care about the ships in this series anymore. I just feel very indifferent towards it.

A popular genre that you hardly reach for

Romance when it comes to adult books, but then again I barely read any adult books anyway #YA4Life

A beloved character you didn’t like

It’s time for the hiding hedgehog again: Tamlin

Everyone seems to love him and swoon over him but I find him really boring?

A popular author you can’t get into

I honestly can’t think of one!

A popular books series you have no interest in reading

The Hunger Games. Before you get out your pitchforks: hear me out! I was interested in reading it years ago, but got spoiled on Tumblr for pretty much the entire trilogy multiple times. I already know so much about what’s going to happen, I just lost interest. Maybe one day when I’m old and have forgotten those spoilers, I’ll read them.

An adaptation you like better than the book

Since I can’t think of a book-to-movie adaptation, I’m going with a manga-to-anime one! Namely Card Captor Sakura. While I enjoyed the manga, I definitely prefer the anime. The manga is really short, though I would’ve liked the anime to be longer as well haha, I feel like I got to know the characters better in the anime. Plus more of this

#OTP

I tag:

Do you share some of these unpopular opinions? Let me know in the comments! Fun fact: I almost forgot to tag people!

signature

25 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag

  1. I never read the Card Captor Sakura manga but I loved the anime when I was younger. Also, I keep getting surprised how well you can choose the gifs you use. It’s always on point :P

  2. This is so annoying when you get spoiled on a series before even reading it. I understand you loosing interest in reading because of that, it happens to me, too ! :( And YES, Maxon really makes up for America’s stupid behavior at times, ahah :)
    Thank you for tagging me ! :D

  3. I feel the same way you do about The Hunger Games towards The Mortal Instruments. I actually did read the first book but didn’t see the hype and now i don’t find any interest in continuing :/ I love Card Captor! It was one of my favorite shows to watch when I was growing up :’) that, Digimon and of course, Sailor Moon!

  4. Yes for the Selection! I swear I see so much hate for it sometimes, and I’m like, oh well, I kind of love it? XD Glad I’m not alone!
    Also, great answers, Michelle! It’s fun to be a black sheep sometimes, hehe. <3

Send an owl

