2016 Reading Goals

Just like last year I decided to set myself some reading goals. I’ll also be participating in some challenges (I might end up participating in more, but we’ll see). These are my goals/challenges for 2016:

SERIES CHALLENGE

Just like last year, there are some series I want to finish/catch up on. All of these books have already been published, so I need to catch up! Some of these are series I didn’t manage to finish this year, others are new. Of course I might add series during the year or give up on others.

  • Geek Girl: (2/3)
  • Also Known As: (1/2)
  • Hex Hall: (1/3)
  • Princess Academy: (1/3)
  • The Selection:  (3/4)
  • The Grisha Trilogy: (1/3)

YALFESTNL CHALLENGE

I’m going to YalfestNL in April, and of the authors attending I’m only familiar with Stephenie Perkins works. I already wanted to read the other attending authors’ books though, so this seems like a good excuse to finally read them!

  • Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda
  • The Shatter Me Trilogy: (0/3)
  • Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children: (0/3)

I might end up reading Lobsters and the Seeker series as well, as the authors of those books are also attending, but they’re not priorities.

RETELLING CHALLENGE

I’m participating again in Mel’s (Fairytale) Retelling Challenge! I kind of failed last year, but it was fun nonetheless! This year I’ll be aiming for the Goose Girl level, which means reading 5-9 books.

  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer
  • Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
  • Return to the Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz
  • Nora and Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor

I can’t believe I still haven’t read Fairest. Every time I’m at the bookstore they don’t have it, and instead of ordering it I keep spending my money on other books…Oops. Also I CAN’T WAIT FOR STARS ABOVE. AND HEARTLESS. I love how Marissa Meyer kind of dominates this list. ALSO SEQUEL TO ISLE OF THE LOST. MORE DESCENDANTS BOOKS- YASSS

THE 2016 CONTEMPORARY CHALLENGE

This year I’m also signing up for The 2016 Contemporary Challenge hosted by Jillian and Montana. I won’t pick out any books in advance for this one, as there are always contemporaries I want to read! I’ll be aiming for Peony: 11-15 books.

CLASSICS CHALLENGE

The year may not be over yet, but I’m 100% that I won’t complete this challenge this year, so let’s try again in 2016!

  • Persuasion 
  • Northanger Abbey 
  • Emma 
  • Mansfield Park
  • Sylvie and Bruno 
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes 
  • The Lord of the Rings: Read (1/3)
  • Les Misérables 

GOODREADS CHALLENGE

Of course I’ll be participating in the Goodreads Challenge again next year! In 2014 I read 50, this year I read a little over 100, maybe I should aim for 150 this year? I DON’T KNOW I’M SCARED AND IT WILL PUT SO MUCH PRESSURE ON ME AND I HATE PRESSURE. I DEFINITELY DON’T WANT MY READING TO BE PRESSURED.

Basically, I’m not entirely sure yet. You’ll see once January 1st arrives haha.

So those are my goals and challenges for this year! Do you have any reading goals for next year? And are you participating in any of these challenges? Let me know in the comments!

signature

41 thoughts on “2016 Reading Goals

  1. You’ve certainly cut out some great goals for yourself! I’ve read a couple of books you’ve mentioned, but am far away from having read all of them. Either way, I hope you’ll like them! Esepcially the Shatter Me trilogy!!! I love that one!

  2. Seeing you ready with your new year reading goals makes me want to dive right in and do all these challenges as well! I can feel excitement bubbling up inside of me! I must remember to do a reading goals post and a blogging goals post.

  3. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the classics! I love JA and LOTR. I did the goodreads 100 book challenge last year, but I didn’t enjoy it. I read through the books like a hurricane, without pausing to pause or introspect or enjoy the writing. I completed the books waaaay before time too. This time I’m going to read mindfully and have fun :)

    • I loved Pride and Prejudice so I’m sure I’ll enjoy her other books :D Oh that’s such a shame! I don’t read THAT fast thankfully, so I still get to enjoy the books. That’s good! :) Reading should be fun after all!

  4. Hey Michelle! I’m just going through my unread posts… It’s over 200… A little out of hand, don’t you think? I’ve missed reading your posts! I’m hoping to participate in some challenges in the New Year as well, but I still need to check with Nikki. You have some really great books on there! I do have to warn you about The Heir- Nikki and I both were not fans! I just suggest that you keep an open mind, and hopefully you enjoy it more than we did! Remember for your Goodreads challenge that you’re reading BECAUSE YOU LOVE IT, not because you will die if you don’t complete the challenge. What about setting it for 125? You could always change it later…
    -Amy

    • Hahaha I feel you; I don’t know how many unread posts are in my feed exactly, but there are A LOT. The challenges are fun, so you guys should :D If you want to of course, no pressure haha. Yeah a lot of people weren’t too excited about The Heir, that’s why I keep putting it off! Haha true, I can get a bit competitive with things like the Goodreads Challenge :P I REALLY SHOULDN’T. I think I’ll just set it on 100 again and see what happens :) If I complete it early I’ll set it higher!

      • Yes! I’m still trying to decide which challenges I want to do… Some of them overlap and some of them cannot possibly both be done hehe. I completely understand! Maybe this is bad, but I try to look at The Heir as a different series… That sounds like a plan! ;-)
        -Amy (obviously)

      • What challenges are you thinking of joining? :) Maybe I can help! I know what you mean, I kind of do too! Like a sequel series instead. Like how The Infernal Devices is a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments. I just started two sentences in a row with ‘like’ hmm…

      • It’s a long list! Maybe I can narrow it down to a few and then show you haha. Yes, exactly!
        I say like waaaaaaaay too much. I have also noticed that my new favorite word is “boo” as in “oh, boo!” as in sad? I don’t know… It’s really weird haha.

  5. My 2016 reading goals are so similar to yours!! I also want to finish my Goodreads reading challenge and get more into the classic books especially Jane Austen, and that retelling challenge sound pretty tempting too! Lets hope this year is the year for reading!! Good Luck with all your challenges!!

    • Oh funny! :) I’ve read Pride and Prejudice 2/3 years ago and really liked it, so I want to read some of her other books (I even have them on my shelf, but I keep reading other books instead haha) You should sign up for the retelling challenge! I also participated last year and it’s really fun :D Good luck to you too!

Send an owl

