Review: Model Misfit by Holly Smale

geek girl

Genre: Ya | Contemporary
Series: Geek Girl
Goodreads rating: 4.15
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

“My name is Harriet Manners, and I am still a geek.”

Harriet knows that modelling won’t transform you. She knows that being as uniquely odd as a polar bear isn’t necessarily a bad thing (even in a rainforest). And that the average person eats a ton of food a year, though her pregnant stepmother is doing her best to beat this.

What Harriet doesn’t know is where she’s going to fit in once the new baby arrives.

With summer plans ruined, modelling in Japan seems the perfect chance to get as far away from home as possible. But nothing can prepare Harriet for the craziness of Tokyo, her competitive model flatmates and her errant grandmother’s ‘chaperoning’. Or seeing gorgeous Nick everywhere she goes.

Because, this time, Harriet knows what a broken heart feels like.

Can geek girl find her place on the other side of the world or is Harriet lost for good? (Goodreads)

review

I read Geek Girl last year and really enjoyed it, but I never found the sequel, Model Misfit and just ended up buying other books instead. Naturally I was very pleased to finally find it in a bookstore (’cause I could’ve ordered it, but did I mention I kept buying other books?) and for only five euros! After I finished the illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, I immediately started Geek Girl and finished it the next day (I could’ve finished it earlier, but I had to go to bed on time because I had to get up early for school). I just couldn’t stop reading and damn, do I wish I had gotten back into this world sooner!

I barely remembered Geek Girl, but as I started reading everything came back to me very quickly (also Harriet summed it up a bit, so that helped). I don’t remember why, but I gave Geek Girl four stars. Would I give Geek Girl five stars if I read it now? I honestly don’t know if Model Misfit is better than it’s prequel, but I couldn’t find fault with it.

Harriet is a delightful protagonist and is definitely on my favourites list. She has a distinctive voice, is hilarious, cute and very relatable (to me at least). There are a lot of cringeworthy moments at which I actually closed my eyes because I felt so bad for her. The old characters are just as loveable as in the first book (mainly Harriet’s parents, Wilbur and Nick), the new ones being adorable too (I LOVE RIN I CAN’T WAIT TO READ ABOUT HER AGAIN). With exceptions of course.

The characters made this novel, but of course the setting made it even better. IT TAKES PLACE IN JAPANJAPANJAPANJAPAN. Okay I’ll stop now. You guys get it. It takes place in Japan. (sorry couldn’t help myself). I love Japan, so naturally it was really fun to read about Harriet’s antics there. The descriptions were wonderful to read and I just wish I could climb into the book to join Harriet and her friends. 

I just flew through this book. Harriet’s voice is fun to read and I just couldn’t put it down. I almost forgot to get out of the train (thankfully I didn’t, or who knows where I would’ve ended up- at the other side of the country, that’s where). I’m curious to see what happens next to Harriet and hope that it won’t take me this long to pick up the third book!

Have you read this series yet? Do you like it? Let me know in the comments!

signature

24 thoughts on “Review: Model Misfit by Holly Smale

  1. Have you been to Japan then? It is one of my favourite places for a book setting. I don’t usually like books about modelling so I’ll probably see if I can find Geek Girl before I look for this.

  2. I haven’t read any of the Geek Girl books. I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about them so I haven’t really made them my top priority TBR. This book sounds fun, though : ) I also love that it is set in Japan, I love books set in foreign countries because I feel like I’m learning something about them as I read <3

  3. I haven’t read it….or the first book. YET. XD They’re totally on my to-do list (because the geek life is the best kind of life) But omg set in Japan? DID YOU SAY JAPAN??? I mean, Japaaaaan. xD SIGN ME UP FOR THAT.

  4. […] A review of Model Misfit on The Writing Hufflepuff– I’ve already told you how amazing Michelle is, so obviously she writes great reviews. Basically, I read Geek Girl and LOVED IT (It’s one of those I really need to tell you guys about and will probably never get around to doing it. Who said that? Certainly not me…) and had absolutely NO IDEA that there was a sequel! And a sequel’s sequel! What am I going to do with myself? Apparently Model Misfit takes place in JAPAN and has plenty of Nick in it, so I can’t wait to get my hands on this pretty book! […]

Send an owl

