Christmas 2015

Ah such an original title. Fun fact: I first typed 2016. YES I’M SECRETLY FROM THE FUTURE BUT I MUST KEEP THIS A SECRET. Which I just failed to do. Um. I’M JUST JOKING I’M NOT FROM THE FUTURE.

Anyway! I’ll start with the promised pictures of our Christmas tree, because a Christmas tree is the start of it all! At least it doesn’t feel like Christmas to me until our tree is up.

Under our tree we have my Christmas themed plushies haha. The hamsters are new (they’re the mascots for one of our biggest supermarket chains) but all the others were collected over the years. I think you can see the theme haha.

Here’s a picture of our entire tree plus the presents for my mom, grandfather, me and the people we got for Secret Santa. You can’t see the topper in this picture, but we want a new one anyway as it doesn’t go with the rest of the tree anymore.

The angel in the top right corner was made by me when I was little haha. It’s been a part of the tree ever since. Also, take a good look at Aurora. She seems to be missing something… Like part of a limp.

Of course I looked forward to Christmas because it meant spending time with my family (except for my mom and grandfather I don’t see the others that often!) but… I was also really excited because I could wear my Weasley jumper (not that I haven’t worn it already, but it feels so much more magical to wear it on Christmas itself haha).

christmas

We spent Christmas at my aunt’s, where we had lots of food (I really shouldn’t have eaten that much chocolate before dinner…), laughed a lot and of course opened presents. My six-year old cousin received all this stuff so he could be a knight (another sword, a shield and a helmet) so naturally I found myself sword fighting later on. If he had had a real sword I would be missing my hand now, let’s leave it at that haha. My mom was the victim later on, and he promised her he would bring his swords at New Years Eve so they can fight again (if he challenges me I shall bring out my wand. Just kidding, I’ll remind him how good my mom is. I’d like to keep my hand, thank you).

I got books (no surprise there). And some other book-related goodies.

The books I got are: A Thousand Nights, The Ask and the Answer, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Shatter Me and Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. All in all I’m a happy bookworm! I also got sticky notes, new bookmarks and a mug.

I had to hold a photoshoot with A Thousand Nights though, because LOOK HOW GORGEOUS IT IS.

I hope the story itself is just as beautiful!

Before dinner my cousin was really hyperactive. At some point he claimed that we had to hide (‘Nah, I don’t have to. You go hide.’) which resulted in this gem:

If you can’t see him, you might have to zoom in haha. You may think he was that hyper because of the presents awaiting him, but nope, at this point we had already opened them!

We also held a photoshoot with him as a photographer (he refused to be in a picture himself). Though eventually my fabulous pose must have inspired him because he asked me to take a picture of him.

Then it was finally time for dinner (this is making me hungry – doesn’t help that it’s dinner time as I’m writing this). LOOK AT THOSE SHRIMP. Shrimp are very popular in our family. I feel like we all have some kind of obsession with them haha. This may not look like a lot to some of you, but there are only seven of us, and my six-year old cousin and grandfather don’t eat that much. Plus this picture is without desert. We had homemade ‘koekjespudding’ (I couldn’t find a translation, but literally it means ‘cookies pudding’).
My cousin actually wanted to play hide-and-seek after dinner, but I was too full to move. So that’s when my mom became his next sword-fighting victim haha. Lucky for her, my cousin had to go home so he could go to bed on time (seriously, he wasn’t even tired when they left. HOW. He was just a ball of energy throughout the entire evening).

So that was my day! I hope you all had as much fun as I did. Let me know in the comments how your Christmas was! 

signature

 

31 thoughts on “Christmas 2015

    • Haha thanks :D I shouldn’t take the credit though, as my mom decorated it (I helped giving advice from a safe distance where I couldn’t break anything haha). I got the jumper at the Wizarding World, but I’m sure you can find it online too! Thank you! I hope you did too :)

  1. I hope you and your family had a lovely Christmas. I am in love with your tree it is so pretty. Also, that Wesley jumper is the best thing I have seen! I want one in my life!

  2. Aw Michelle, this sounds like it was a lovely time! And AGG YOU GOR THE BEST GIFTS OMG. I’m slightly jealous of those sticky notes and bookmarks!
    Please tell me you’re jumping right into The Ask and the Answer. 😱 I still need to read it, but my guy friend is currently reading it 😊

    • I hope you did too! They’re from Blossom Books, a Dutch YA publisher, I don’t know if they sell them internationally, but if I find them online somewhere I’ll let you know! 😊 I’m reading Shatter Me first, so that my heart can recover from The Knife of Never Letting Go 😂 Once I’ve finished it though, The Ask and The Answer it is ❤ Oh I hope he finishes it soon so you can read it too!

Send an owl

