2016 Blogging and Writing Goals

I previously wrote a post about my reading goals, now it’s time to do a post about my blogging and writing goals!

blogging goals

  • Change my theme – I’m getting a bit bored of the one I have
  • Keep up posting a Discussing Hufflepuff every month – I love writing these, but sometimes I forget
  • Post a Blogsterdam every month – uh, I haven’t posted one yet this month and I probably won’t. This will change in 2016. I will post one every month! (I really hope this sentence won’t come back to bite me in the ass)
  • Be more active on Twitter – I love talking to everyone on Twitter, but after a busy schoolday, even when I don’t have any homework or studying to do, I’m just too tired! I want to be more active though!
  • Be more active on Instagram – Meaning not only post more, but also comment more!
  • Write the last two posts about my trip to America – I can’t believe I haven’t written these yet
  • Bring back the writing prompts I used to do – Someone mentioned in my survey that they missed these, and I missed doing them! I already have a great idea for one, but for some reason (read: forgetfulness, laziness, procrastination) I haven’t done it yet
  • Edit old posts – I’ve seen typos guys *shudder*. Plus there are posts that I want to change to my current format so that it will all match! Needless to say this will happen after my theme change! Otherwise I’ll have to start all over again
  • Schedule posts before school starts – I used to be a pro at scheduling posts. I’d like to be one again haha

writing goals

  • Finish The Army of Quermo – This was a goal for this year too, but first of all I was an idiot for thinking I could do this being in my senior year. Exams were way too stressful and exhausting and even though I had a long Summer, I was too exhausted to write most of the time. When Summer was over, I started at a new school and my first term was incredibly busy (which you may have noticed as I barely posted), so I’m not surprised I didn’t accomplish this. Second, I decided to write in English halfway through the year so I had to translate everything I had written so far
  • Finish interviewing my grandfather for his biography – Um, another goal from this year. Woops. My grandfather has a lot of stories to tell. Also see the above point. Exams. Stress. Exhaustion.
  • Write more in general – After writing a few short stories this year I realised how much I missed writing those!
  • Work on another project that I’ve never talked about on here – Very vague, much mysterious (sorry not sorry for this). I’m very passionate about this and I’m scared that someone will steal my idea (not any of my followers, I trust you guys with all my heart! ❤ But anyone can find this blog and sadly there are people who will gladly steal other people’s work)

So these are my goals for next year! I’m curious to see how well I’ll do haha. Do you have any goals for next year? Let me know in the comments!

signature

45 thoughts on “2016 Blogging and Writing Goals

  1. Oooh I’m curious about your secret project. I’m a sucker for this sort of thing. I hope you complete it soon, so you can copyright it and share it with us curious folks :) Also are you doing a biography for your grandfather? That is so amazing!!!

  2. You’re going to have an awesome 2016. What great intentions ) You’ve been so mysterious about your writing project, this will be my face when I get to read it. Well probably not that dramatic but I really do like that gif haha.

  3. I also aim to change my theme next year…or at least finally find one that I’m content with. Can’t wait to see the new look of your blog when you finish :) What is a Blogsterdam, btw?
    I hope you get lots of free time and writing done next year, including your grandfather’s biography. That’s a wonderful idea, actually, I wish I thought of doing that before mine passed away. Sometimes their stories feel like they came from a different world altogether, not just an earlier era.
    Can’t wait to see what your super secret project is all about :D

    • Oh looking forward to your new theme! I know the struggle haha. It’s a (supposed to be) monthly feature where I talk about Amsterdam! :) I hope so too! I hope everyone will have plenty of free time next year to do what they love. Sometimes real life just gets in the way of that. Thank you, that’s why I really want to work more on it this year! He’s doing well, but he’s turning 80 so you never know and I promised him to write it and I’d like to keep that promise. Don’t they? My grandfather has so many stories and they often sound like they’re coming out of a book, instead of his own life! I’m sorry for your loss <3
      I can't wait to share it! :D

      • That’s fun! I’d love to visit Amsterdam someday, or tour Europe in general. Ahhh don’t expect too much from the theme, lol. I know I want to change it but I have no idea what I want it to look like, haha.

        I hope you finish the biography :D It’s really thoughtful of you to do that for him :) and thank you <3

  4. Hey Michelle! Great to meet you :D Ooh, Blogsterdam sounds like a super cool feature, especially since I have a similar monthly feature to introduce Chinese culture. I’d love to hear more about Amsterdam! Writing as a student is super difficult and I totally sympathise because I basically did way less writing than I planned to. (For scheduling, though, I find myWriteClub *incredibly* helpful!) Your mysterious project sounds intriguing!

  5. Love all of your goals :) I can’t wait for the Blogsterdam posts, it sounds SO good. And the discussions, obviously, because I can never get enough of you talking about anything, haha :D
    I’m SO intrigued about your secret project, now!! I hope you’ll give us some hints, from time to time, that would be kind of fun :p

  6. Your little secret project is making me very curious! FILL ME IN PLEASE! 💓
    Good luck with all your blogging and writing goals! I am probably going to post up my writing goals post today, and one of my goals is to finish the novel I am currently working on! 😊

  7. Good luck with all your goals!!! I used to be such a pro at scheduling posts too. I’d have them done weeks before hand . . . but this year, yeah, not so much. I’ve just been busy and tired a lot of the time. Hopefully that’ll change next year for me too.

  8. Ahh…goals.
    I make them every year, and yet…
    I recently looked at various goals I posted about back in January/February…*awkward cough* *avoids eye contact* …yeah.

    Haha, “be more active on twitter”…one of my goals for this year is to be LESS active on twitter…I just had a two week twitter break and it was SO productive.

    Good luck with your goals!

Send an owl

