Top 10 books of 2015

It’s that time of the year again! I deliberately kept putting this off, because what if I read something amazing that NEEDED to be on this list? Basically I wanted to do this last week but I had yet to read The Knife of Never Letting Go and had a feeling it would be on this list.

This list is not really in any order, because choosing is hard. Without further ado, my top 10!

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Made You Up

I will continue throwing this book at everyone next year, because it’s beautiful and perfect and amazing and I love it so much. I will definitely reread it soon. If you want a more detailed reason as to why I love this book so much, please read my review or more like my fangirl rantings.

Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

A.k.a. the perfect ending to this wonderful series. Definitely one of my favourite endings to a series. Everything came to a close, it was a perfect combination of action, humor and romance… AND SOON STARS ABOVE WILL BE OUT. Read my review here or take a look at my feels in gifs (warning: major spoilers in that one!).

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

carry on

I knew I was going to love this book, but I don’t love this book. I don’t even know what my feelings for it are. Just like with Fangirl, as soon as I finished it I wanted to reread it right away. I was so giddy on feels afterwards for days. If you haven’t read this yet, what are you waiting for?! Read my review here.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Why have I waited this long to read this? I need to go back in time and throw this book at me. I have the sequel waiting for me, but Aentee told me (more like warned haha) that while The Knife is like a stab through the heart, The Ask and the Answer only gets worse, so I’m too scared haha. I’ll soon review it!

The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani

thelasteverafter

Another great ending to a great series. I love The School for Good and Evil trilogy and boy this last book did not disappoint. The character development Agatha and Sophie went through is beautiful. Scratch that, the entire book is beautiful. Read my review here.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

I can’t believe I only read this this year! (to be fair, it was at the beginning of the year) This is still hands down my favourite book in the series. It’s such a rollercoaster of emotions. It hurts just thinking about it. SARAH J. MAAS THIS WAS NOT OKAY. Read my review here.

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

Apparently I read this this year! Boy, does time fly. I thought it was last year. I didn’t love all the stories equally, but they all amused me greatly (I mean, it’s Magnus Bane, how can stories about him not amuse me?). I loved finding out more about Magnus and the people surrounding him. And you know, MALEC’S FIRST DATE. Also I really want more short stories about Magnus, Catharina and Ragnor. I want an entire book about them. Perfect Warlock Squad. Read my review here.

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

IMG_3309

I just couldn’t stop reading this one. I had to put it down at some point, because I really needed my sleep, but I didn’t want to. The mystery is so good and the friendships in this book are adorable. Also it’s GORGEOUS. Because comic pages. Yes please. Read my review here.

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Magnus Chase

While I was a bit disappointed, I still really loved it! How can I not? It’s Rick Riordan after all. I love everything he writes (well, everything I have read so far. I don’t know about his grocery shopping list. I’ll let you know once I’ve gotten my hands on that). Though I have to admit I’m more excited for The Hidden Oracle than The Hammer of Thor (guys I automatically spelled Thorne. Can you tell I love Thorne), but that’s mainly because PERCY. And I absolutely adore Apollo. Read my review here

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I don’t even want to talk about this book that ripped my heart out, stomped on it, ripped it apart and just threw it away somewhere.

It’s beautiful read it.

Read my review here- and this is when I find out that I never reviewed it. SEE THIS IS HOW MUCH THAT BOOK BROKE ME

SPECIAL SHOUT OUT

Sinterklaas

The illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. The story is not new to me of course, but the illustrations are breathtaking. I still need to do a post on it, but expect it soon! (hopefully)

Are any of these books in your top 10? What are your favourite books of the year? Let me know in the comments!

signature

31 thoughts on “Top 10 books of 2015

  1. Great list, I agree with so many of these! I felt exactly the same way about Carry On! And Crown of Midnight made me bawl my eyes out! I’ve got Made You Up waiting to be read, so I’m excited to start that one, and I’ve heard a lot of good things about All the Bright Places so think I’m going to have to get my hands on that one next year. :)

  2. I’m pretty sure that Winter and Carry On would make my list too but I’m only going to read them in January.
    All the Bright Places broke my heart too. It was even worse because I read My Heart and Other Black Holes around the same time and my heart was already broken from that book.

  3. WINTER. AND CARRY ON. And omfg can I just say all of them? I love the creativity of all of your photography, Made You Up especially. All The Bright Places will mke me want to sob and break down. We will not speak of that book.

  4. Seems like a pretty good list, even though I only read one of them. Also, All The Bright Places broke me too. That book was so emotional that I think I cried throughout the entire ending.

Send an owl

