The Hunt Has Just Begun | Shadowhunters 1.01 Review

Naturally I had to take a break from studying to watch and review Shadowhunters. I DESERVED THAT BREAK. Besides, I couldn’t wait any longer. You guys should have seen me during the weekend. I was jumping up and down, with this big goofy grin on my face, thinking ‘SHADOWHUNTERS SHADOWHUNTERS SHADOWHUNTERS’

So did the pilot live up to my expectations and excitement?

I have to admit, if I hadn’t known about the major changes beforehand, I would’ve been more like this:

But I had plenty of time to think over the changes, accept them and even to like them! While I’m wondering where the rest of Simon’s band is and I have to admit it was a bit odd to realise that the girl Simon sings with is Maureen (was that already known before the episode aired? If so I must have missed that), I’m really curious to see how that story will unfold! I wasn’t sure if I’d like Luke the cop, but him investigating the murders and seeing him interact with his colleagues (can we appreciate the fact that Vargas ships him and Jocelyn. CAN WE), besides the most important thing is that so far it seems like Luke.

That’s the most important thing about this show for me, that they stay true to the characters and the relationships they have with each other. Of course the plot is too, but I love these characters so much that I’d rather have them get the characters right than the plot. I’m glad to say that none of the cast disappoints me so far. I already had high hopes from seeing the trailers and sneak peeks, but at this point the actors really seem to get their characters, even though they haven’t appeared that much yet (like Magnus).

From the moment we were introduced to Jace, Alec and Izzy it felt like I was really watching these siblings come to life and interacting with each other. From their banter to fighting together. Dom had Jace’s sass and Emeraude is just the perfect Izzy. And can we just appreciate Matthew Dadario?

Plus he’s the perfect Alec. Just one look (I couldn’t help but sing that to the tune of Mamma Mia *ahum*) and he’s got me convinced (AND NO I’M NOT BEING SHALLOW BECAUSE HE’S PRETTY). Alec is my baby (along with Izzy) and they really didn’t do him any justice in the film. Of course he and Izzy were barely in it, but still.

But the most perfect one so far is really Alberto Rosende. From the moment I saw a picture of him with his glasses on, I immediately thought ‘SIMON HAS ARRIVED’, but looks are one thing. His one liners were perfect (‘Clary is there a meth problem we need to talk about?’) and his facial expressions while Clary was talking to invisible Jace were priceless. I just felt like I was watching my babies come to life okay? CAN WE JUST PRAISE THE ENTIRE CAST.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about Maxime Roy as Jocelyn at first, but after really seeing her interacting with Kat, I was convinced. They seemed to really have mother-daughter relationship plus she’s as badass as I always imagined Jocelyn would be in the books.

Oh and Valentine. I knew Alan van Sprang would be fantastic (I was SO excited when he was announced. I love Alan van Sprang and miss him on Reign – even though I stopped watching a long time ago. But still). We haven’t seen much of him yet, but he’s definitely better than What’s-With-His-Hair Who-Needs-A-Shirt-Anyway Jonathan Rhys Meyers (I’m sorry but just his fashion style alone felt out of character).

In the beginning there were some time jumps, which I’m fine with, but the pace felt a bit odd to me. Maybe it’s because I didn’t expect it (the whole scene where Jace, Alec and Izzy follow the shapeshifter demon into the club and then fight the demons was already on Youtube, so I thought it was one scene, maybe that’s why I felt it was odd. I’m planning on rewatching it soon, so I’ll let you guys know), or maybe it really was, but the pace afterwards felt fine.

The end was a bit abrupt and some lines may have been a bit cheesy, but then again, so are the books sometimes! I like how it looks like there will be some new plot lines (like Valentine being after mundane blood. This wasn’t in the books right? Or is my memory failing me? Anyway, I’m curious to see where that will lead!) and um… Dot?? I really wonder what this will mean for something that happened towards the end of the book. I personally think it’s fun to not always know what’s going to happen! As long as they stay true to the characters, the relationships, the world and the overal plot, I’m down with it (is this statement going to come back to bite me in the ass?)

All in all, I was watching the pilot with a huge grin on my face, squealing and laughing. The effects weren’t that good (but does anyone remember the effects in the first seasons of Buffy? Different time period, I know, but it’s a new show with not that big of a budget yet, so I can forgive them for that!) and the episode wasn’t mind blowing, but it was definitely good, I can’t wait for the next episode and I can already tell that this is going to be one of my favourite tv shows (you better not mess up, Shadowhunters!)

Also can we talk about how everyone seems to follow Simon on Twitter?

I’m planning on reviewing every episode; let’s see how that goes haha. Have you seen the pilot yet? What did you think? Are you in love yet? Let me know in the comments!

Ps. I just found out that the second episode has already been released?? IS THIS TRUE.

signature

29 thoughts on “The Hunt Has Just Begun | Shadowhunters 1.01 Review

  1. Can’t wait to read the rest of your reviews! I’ve just finished watching it myself and I agree with lots of your points. I love the casting of Simon, Alec and Magnus, absolutely perfect! Unsure about the seriousness of Luke’s character, I never imagined him like that and I felt like the plot moved too quickly. But all in all I enjoyed it and thanks for the review, I love your posts!

    • Aww thank you! :) I definitely hope to review all the episodes! Hmm yeah I guess he was a bit serious, but I figured he was worried about Clary and Jocelyn. I loved his scene with Simon though! :) I know what you mean with the plot moving too quickly, especially in the beginning things were moving very fast.

      • I think it’s because I pictured Luke as someone I know who is also called Luke, and my friend is really light hearted and kind, so that was how book Luke was to me (did that make sense?) I don’t mind the story changing though, as long as they make the key points, it will make it more interesting :)

  2. I am happy you enjoyed it so much! I wrote a review of my own and it didn’t sound as enthusiastic as yours :/ I am happy with most of the cast. Especially Matt and Alberto, because they truly represent the characters in the right way, but I can’t really deal with Kat as Clary. I had a couple of points of critique concerning the aestetics, but that could be because I studied film and media and I am really picky with those sort of things.
    However, I did have fun watching it nonetheless and I do plan on watching all the episodes, I was so impatient I couldn’t even wait and already watched the second one. But in the end it is not exactly the way I hoped it would turn out.

  3. Omg I was actually just watching this! It was definitely enjoyable — idk, I thought the effects and filming in general were a bit naff. But…yeah, TMI isn’t a super serious series anyway! (Not in a bad way. *sighs* TODAY HAS BEEN A LONG.) I loved Simon & Izzy in particular though. :)
    THE SECOND EPISODE WAT. I forgot to check it on Netflix, damn… If it is then I know what I’m doing Saturday night haha.

  4. EEE!!! I need to watch this!!! Although those plot changes put a seriously weird expression on my face, I think I might be okay with it if I knew about it beforehand. I need to finish the books first though! Ack!
    -Amy

  5. MATTHEW DADDARIO IS SO BEAUTIFUL OMG. The pilot felt a let a little rushed to me—whoops. And too be honest, I thought the writing and acting was pretty bad—also whoops. BUT STILL IT WAS EPIC.

    • YES HE IS. HE’S TOO PRECIOUS FOR THIS WORLD JUST LIKE ALEC THEREFORE PERFECT CASTING. Yeah it was a bit rushed, especially in the beginning. My standards aren’t that high for book adaptations, so I didn’t really pay that much attention haha (I blame the Percy Jackson films for this). IT WAS. I need to watch the second ep, but alas, exams :(

  6. I haven’t yet had the chance to watch this one yet, but I really hope to get to it soon. Because oh my gosh I LOVE the series of books. I have heard some mixed things about the episode, but basically the consensus is that it seems to have a lot of potential.

  7. Really enjoyed reading your review – I want to watch this so badly, but will have to wait until it airs in the UK :( I like all of the casting, and am really hoping it lives up to my expectations! (But it HAS to be better than the film, which was all kinds of wrong in my opinion haha!)

Send an owl

