Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

shadow and bone

Genre: Ya | fantasy
Series: The Grisha trilogy
Goodreads rating: 4.08
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

review

It’s been a while since I read this book, so this review will be a list review- yay! I tried writing a regular review, but my memory failed me 

  • I liked the worldbuilding. The Grisha were pretty cool and um. I know there were more things I liked about the worldbuilding… If only I could remember them.
  • I read it rather quickly, though the plot felt a bit meh to me. There’s quite a long period where not much happens and it wasn’t that interesting to me
  • I always heard/read people say how much they loved The Darkling, but… I don’t? I mean I don’t dislike him either. I feel nothing towards him. Maybe this will change during the rest of the trilogy?
  • The problem I have with this book is that it’s not very memorable. Even though it’s been a while since I read it (December), I really feel like I should remember more
  • I BARELY REMEMBER ANY OF THE CHARACTERS?! LIKE WHAT IS THE NAME OF ALINA’S FRIEND. I MEAN HER CHILDHOOD FRIEND, NOT THE ONE SHE MAKES AT THE… Grisha Court? Is that the term? Seriously, this book did not stick with me. But I liked the new friend she made and their friendship. I hope we’ll see more of that in the other books
  • Though the plot wasn’t always exciting, it didn’t bore me either
  • Why did I give this book 4 stars. I DON’T REMEMBER

Well wasn’t that an awful ‘review’

But hey, the fact that I barely remember this book does say something! So in a way this review is useful.

From this moment on I won’t start a new book until I’ve reviewed all the books I’ve read. That’ll motivate me, right?

Are you a fan of The Grisha trilogy? Let me know in the comments! Maybe you can help trigger my memory a bit haha. 

signature

11 thoughts on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Maybe I should go with this route when I can’t remember/find my words to describe how I felt about a book! 😂 I agree with you about the plot. To be honest, when I was reading it, I felt like it was gonna be a new favorite but now I’m kind of skeptical… like why would it be my favorite?? I’m just questioning myself on what I liked so much about it lol. In other words, I agree with you on most, despite what my own review says. 🙈

  2. I loved The Grisha trilogy myself, although I actually prefer Six Of Crows now. :D Thank you for not drooling all over The Darkling! I wasn’t really a fan either and remember prefering Mal (Alina’s friend). I love that Jack Sparrow gif by the way. :D

    • I heard/read that a lot of people prefer Six of Crows, so I’m excited to read that one! :D I’m glad I’m not the only one who wasn’t really a fan of The Darkling. Ah yes Mal! That was his name. I preferred him too. He’s a sweetheart :) Haha I love it too :D

  3. I really enjoyed this book while reading it, but it felt a little bit lackluster to me. I also didn’t like the Darkling either. I found him to be super creepy but I was kind of intrigued.

Send an owl

