I’ve Abandoned the S.S. Clace | Shadowhunters 1.06 Review

shadowhunters review-2

The episode starts with a ‘previously on Shadowhunters’ like always, BUT NOW WE GOT A MALEC FLASHBACK. At least that looks promising.

I have mixed feelings about this episode. On one hand I still think it’s getting better with each episode, on the other…

Let’s talk about Jace. The past few episodes I haven’t been a particular fan of Dominic’s portrayal of Jace, but now? Who even is this? Book!Jace is sarcastic but usually not in a mean way (it’s been a while since I read the books, therefore I put the ‘usually’ there), he’s cocky but not in an annoying, makes me want to kick his ass kind of way and he’s lovable. There’s a reason Clary and so many of us fans fell in love with him, but tv show!Jace? I’m starting to not just dislike him, but possibly even hate him. He’s being downright mean and he’s so arrogant it makes me want to strangle him, forget kicking his ass. I don’t know who this imposter is, but it’s not the Jace I know and it’s not the guy I ship Clary with. If Alberto Rosende wasn’t the perfect Simon (with the occasional out of character moments that don’t really make sense but I’ll get to that later), I’d jump onto the Clizzy ship because I ship them a lot on the show. Screw that, I’m multishipper trash so I’ll just steer two ships.

As you all know I’m in love with Alberto Rosende as Simon. My problems with Simon this week aren’t with Alberto (I doubt they ever will), but with the writers. I get what they’re doing. If you haven’t read the books, just skip until you see SPOILERS OVER. So obviously Simon is already turning. Fine, I knew it wouldn’t be one season per book, but why is Simon suddenly getting short-tempered and violent? AND WHERE DID THAT KNIFE COME FROM?

Look, the beauty of vampire Simon is that he’s still Simon. He’s dorky, funny, adorable. He’s not violent. Repeat after me: vampire Simon is still Simon. Now quickly correct this mistake writers.

SPOILERS OVER.

Okay so… That vision Luke had in which Jocelyn told him to tell Clary everything? What was that? Dear writers, Luke is a werewolf, not a psychic, not a demigod, a werewolf. He’s not supposed to have visions. Jocelyn shouldn’t be able to ‘visit’ him in dreams. It was just plain weird. Unless this was a memory he remembered? But it didn’t look like that to me? I’m just very confused.

Let’s take a break from the negativity and talk about the blessing that is Harry Shum Jr. as Magnus. I love how much screen time he got again this episode (THEY BETTER KEEP THIS UP. MAGNUS IS A MAIN CHARACTER), his acting was on point again, I love his hair and his wardrobe. Basically, he’s perfect.

Speaking of Magnus, let’s talk about Malec. ‘I need Alexander’

I’m so glad the whole I need ‘virgin Shadowhunter energy’ thing was a lie though. I wouldn’t have put it past the writers to actually make that a thing. I don’t even care that he did need Shadowhunter strength or something, it led to more wonderful Malec (though I swear it didn’t make sense, I’ll forgive them because my love for Malec runs deep). Just: Malec holding hands, the look in Magnus’ eyes

And then Magnus leaning into Alec and Alec asking if he was okay and them sharing a drink and Magnus saying ‘to us’. TO US TO US TO US TO US

Alec’s face when he drank the drink, Magnus being a cutie and then saying ‘I wanted to see you’ and then Matthew’s acting being so on point; you could see the insecurity and him looking away and asking why and the emotion in Magnus’ eyes when he says he hasn’t loved anyone in a century and Alec’s stuttering and Magnus holding up his finger and Alec’s smile and Magnus’ understanding

By the way I’m writing to you guys from the afterlife because I’m dead because of all the feels

It’s time to talk about the horrible CGI again! To be honest I’m used to Magnus’ magic, but I’ll never get used to the weird slow motion in which the Shadowhunters sometimes move and then the way they speed up the running I just can’t

You know who I haven’t given enough love yet? Izzy. I’ve talked about her in previous reviews, but not enough. While usually Alec or Simon steals the show for me (closely followed by Magnus when he has more than one scene), Izzy was the star of the show this time. Not that I didn’t love her in other episodes, but oh my God was this one perfect for her. Her scenes made me tear up; her relationship with Maryse; playing with Max; standing up, looking after and protecting Alec… Her last scene really made me tear up guys. She wants her big brother to be happy so much I just can’t

Emeraude’s acting was so on point and she’s just perfect as Izzy

Speaking of the Lightwoods, Max is adorable and I love him. His interacting with his siblings is just perfect. Hahaha if they get to City of Glass we’re all so screwed (that hahaha is maniacal laughter by the way). I also loved how they showed us that Maryse is human and that she does care about her kids, including Izzy. Her scene with Alec was adorable to watch (‘I was so proud when you broke his nose’ and of course I swooned at Alec’s smile is that even a surprise to any of you) and so was Izzy’s with her dad for like… The first second. Papa Lightwood went from 100 to 0 very quick.

So Clary in this episode… Barely any Clace, which is good to me since I don’t ship them at all in the show and I still think Kat’s acting is best with the rest of the cast. There were moments that she delivered a line that really reminded me of the fierce Clary we know and love, plus her scenes with Luke were heartwarming. It did really bother me that she said ‘bring it Warlock’, like excuse me Clary Fray/Fairchild who calls Shadowhunters out on their shit for looking down on Mundanes and Downworlders would not call Magnus ‘Warlock’. Besides the writers are contradicting themselves ’cause later on she’s disgusted by Valentine’s beliefs and points out that many Downworlders so far helped her? Then why would she call Magnus ‘Warlock’? And why is she acting like a courtroom artist? But her and Alec bonding (‘Then I’m glad you did it for you’); I’m down for this. I’m so down for this.

So the flashbacks… I like young Valentine’s acting, but why is he using a regular sword instead of a seraph blade? (fun fact while taking notes I actually wrote lightsaber instead). It just didn’t make sense. Also I don’t like how they changed the story. I love that Jocelyn and Luke got an army together, how Shadowhunters and Downworlders fought alongside each other which only made the Accords stronger. I get that that story might be a bit long for one episode, but I’m sure they could’ve figured something out. Also I’m not sure how I feel about Magnus telling the story (though I love that he sounds like a professional narrator), but thankfully Luke continues it and drops a bomb on both Clary and us book fans: Valentine became a horrible human being because Jocelyn and Luke betrayed him: they fell in love. Okay first of all: Valentine was always that way. Second of all: yes, Valentine did know that Luke was in love with Jocelyn and thus led him to those werewolves, but Luke and Jocelyn didn’t betray him. It was Valentine who betrayed them. I really don’t like this change at all.

But I do really love Isaiah as Luke. He’s calm and kind, and I really do love his and Clary’s relationship. Also he really cracked me up when he went ‘Yeah. I MEAN NO’ when Clary suggested that he and Jocelyn had slept with each other. It did bother me that at some point during the story he had gotten up; like you’re healing?? Get the hell back to bed Lucian.

Okay to sum this up: I think the writing of the overal plot of each episode is getting more solid. It doesn’t feel like it’s all over the place anymore and the pace is getting pretty good. I do not ship Clace on the show. Simon being aggressive is not okay. Izzy was the queen of the episode. Alec, Simon (when the writers didn’t write him out of character), Magnus, Luke and Maryse were on point. Max was adorable. Kat’s acting is either improving or it’s because she has less scenes with Dom. I feel like the stage has been set up for the rest of the season and I really hope it continues to improve (though I realise that this review might sound quite negative haha. I did enjoy the episode!). Plus Malec is still on point.

Some other points:

  • I still refuse to believe that’s how you pronounce Idris
  • Magnus calling Simon and Jace Clary’s boy toys and Clary not even denying it
  • I’m siriusly in love with Magnus’ hair in this episode
  • What bastard dared beat up Alec Baewood when he was an adorable little cinnamon roll (he’s still a cinnamon roll, but a tall cinnamon roll)
  • Alec looking out for his mama: ‘We’re Lightwoods, we break noses and accept the consequences’ though thinking about this line, this is probably why Maryse is convinced that Alec should be the one forced into marriage…
  • Luke looked so out of place in Magnus’ bed I love it
  • Why was Jocelyn hiding that she was an artist (okay I know they explained this but it really bothers me)

We’re halfway there and I’m still looking forward to new episodes, which is good right? How did you feel about this episode, particularly about Jace? (remember when I was naive and said that the characters were on point during the pilot haha I was so cute) Let me know in the comments!

Ps. the title suggests I don’t ship Clace anymore. I still ship them in the books! Just not on the show. Just to make things clear

signature

24 thoughts on “I’ve Abandoned the S.S. Clace | Shadowhunters 1.06 Review

  1. I completely agree with you about the guy who plays Jace- he’s not Jace! In my opinion that’s cos he’s a terrible actor and can’t deliver any of his lines. He’s constantly underacting and just stands there like a plank of wood- sometimes the writers have given him lines that are clearly meant to be jokey or sarcastic, but when he says them they just come across as insulting or rude. It’s made even worse by the fact he’s acting opposite someone who is completely overacting (clary). But I do like Simon (although you’re right, that fight with Jace was totally out of character) and Izzy and Malec is my favourite thing in it! (and pretty much the only reason I’m still watching) and yes the CGI is horrible!

    • Yes exactly! It’s a shame because I’ve seen quite a few behind the scenes videos and Dom seems like a lovely and funny guy, but the way he delivers his lines… I just hope he’ll improve :/ Yeah Kat’s acting is like she’s still on Disney Channel, but I don’t really notice that when she’s with other cast members besides Dom. It really stands out when you’re standing next to a plank lol (that’s such a good description). Yeah that fight really upsets me, especially that Simon pulled out a knife. Why would Simon even carry that? Even though he now knows about the supernatural world, it’s so out of character! Izzy and Malec are perf, bless them and their actors. The CGI is so bad it’s funny at times though, so it’s sort of enjoyable to watch 😂

      • Yeah I have too- and you’re right, he does seem perfectly nice. Hopefully! Cos I really *love* Jace in the book!
        Oh gosh you’re right- that’s exactly what it’s like. haha thanks!
        Yeah it was bizarre- even when he was a vampire in the book, he wasn’t *that* temperamental or violent. Yeah exactly!
        I know I love them- I think they’ve got it spot on!
        Yeah it is- but I agree it is fun to watch though cos it’s funny :)

    • Yeah, I wasn’t really on S.S. Clace in the previous episodes either, but I still had hope that it would get better. Now though? Nope nope nope. I wasn’t fond of Jace in previous eps either, but he was hard to watch in this episode. Agreed, I want Jamie Campbell Bower back!

  2. Show Clace has lost all hope by this point. Like *poof* my love for Jace is gone! He’s so out of character and the animosity between Simon and Jace is just too much at this point. I died laughing though when Clary didn’t even deny the TWO times that Magnus basically called Jace and Simon her boy toys. For me, Malec and Izzy are giving this show life. They’re so fantastic and how can you not love Alec?

  3. This post cracked me up so much 😂😂 but I’m 100% behind you in all the things that you said. I don’t like Jace, Izzy is MY queen, I LOVE Malec, I’m never going to pronounce Idris the way they do in the show, If they get to city of glass I’ll never get over it (i’m still not over it in the book), I wanted to slap clary when she said that “bring it warlock thing”

  4. Totally agree with all the points you made here! I think Dom could better of course he isn’t the Jace we know and love at all.. And the CLACE ship is pretty much crap in the show… I think Doms American accent he is trying to do might be putting him off.. Of course Alberto is still slaying his character Simon and I wouldn’t expect nothing less from him because after all I think he is the only one in the cast who has actually read the whole series! Harry is doing a bloody great job as my favourite character Magnus Bane and of course the MALEC ship is freaking awesome! This episode consisted of quite a few things from City Of Glass I think.. I was disappointed with the flashbacks I think that they dumped too much on us all at once… Maybe if they spread out the info of Valentine through the episodes it might of been better.. Emeraude is doing a great job with Izzy and I can’t wait to see how she develops in the next few episodes! Oh and I cracked up so much when clary asked Luke if he was her father… I’m like we established Valentine was your father remember 😂😂

    • It could be his accent, I think someone else said that as well… He was just so mean in this episode though, so even if he had brought the lines differently, I don’t think I would’ve liked him more :/ This was really the writers fault. Yeah Alberto is the only one! I wish the others had read them too. I think Kat and Dom said that they decided not to read the rest of the series because it confused them since the show does things differently? I think it’s a lame excuse but okay 😂 I’m SO happy that Harry is doing Magnus justice! And yes Malec ❤ Yeah they should’ve spread it out; that way they could’ve also kept the story of the books. I do get the changes, but I think the fact that Shadowhunters fought alongside Downworlders was just a really important fact. Emeraude is perfect as Izzy and I can’t wait either! Oh God yeah I laughed my ass off when she asked that and went like ‘seriously?’ Clary maybe you should work on your memory 😂

      • Exactly and Luke and Jocelyn were NOT having an affair this was what was implied on the show… But they actually came together to stop Valentine along with the downworlders like you said…Another thing that they stupidly did was that they implied that CLARY’s power with putting things in paper and runes is genetic/inherited but it’s NOT the main reason why she can do that is because Valentine gave Angel blood to Jocelyn unaware she was pregnant and thought it would make her happier which meant it also went into CLARY’s blood allowing her to have special abilities like Jocelyn… This is the same thing what happened to Jace to with his mother Celine.. I hope they fix this up ASAP because this is an important plot point to why Jace and Clary have these abilities!

      • The affair really bothers me, because it isn’t in Luke and Jocelyn’s nature at all :/ Plus putting the blame for Valentine being evil on them? What? I hope that it’s just Clary’s assumption that her powers are genetic and that at some point it will be cleared up that she has those powers because of the Angel’s blood. I think they will go into this once it’s revealed that Valentine is Jace’s ‘father’ too. At least I hope so! Like you said it’s an important plot point.

  5. I love to hear your reviews! They are so accurate and lovely :) I LOVE the Lightwood family I think they are the best portrayed in the show.

Send an owl

