Review: Pinocchio

Ever since I finished Pinocchio I haven’t been able to start a new drama (whether it’s Japanese or Korean – it’s really been a while since I watched a Japanese drama..). I don’t even want to watch a new drama. It’s put me in a big slump and I hope it won’t last as long as the slump I got after finishing Dream High.

So what is Pinocchio about? This is the summary from My Drama List, which is pretty spoiler free:

The idealistic Choi In Ha has her work cut out for her when she becomes a broadcast journalist, especially when she suffers from a condition known as “Pinocchio syndrome,” which makes her break out into hiccups whenever she tells a lie. Her rookie colleagues include Choi Dal Po, whose shabby appearance masks his true eloquence and sharp memory; Seo Bum Jo, a wealthy heir who has had everything handed to him in life; and Cha Hye Seung, whose fangirl knowledge comes in handy in covering the news. The 20-something newbie reporters pursue justice as they try to discover themselves in the process.

While it’s spoiler free, it doesn’t even begin to cover this amazing drama. I thought it would be cute, romantic and funny, which it was, it just was a lot darker than I expected which made it even better. See there’s a big mystery plot as well, and even when you think everything is resolved, it’s not. I just couldn’t stop watching as I had to find the answers to all my questions. Every episode ends with a cliffhanger, which really didn’t help my productivity (or sleep).

But besides the awesome mystery, the darkness and angst, it it also heartwarming. The main characters were funny and adorable, yet they clearly had their flaws and damn was their acting incredible, especially in certain scenes. Out of the other two main characters, I immediately loved Cha Hye Seung, who is just adorable and hilarious, but Seo Bum Jo not so much. Thankfully he went through great character development that made me fall in love with him.

And oh my gosh don’t get me started on all the supporting characters. They made the show even better.  First there’s Choi In Ha’s dad and grandfather, and along with Choi Dal Po they’re a realistic, heartwarming family. I always looked forward to their scenes. Then the reporters that the four main worked with; their antics were hilarious, yet they were great mentors for the newbie reporters (at least most of them). There are some supporting characters that I can’t talk about, because of spoilers, but they were all interesting to watch, whether I liked them or not. Ah just all the family, friendship and mentor relationships made my heart melt. Except that at the same time this drama also ripped my heart out.

Then there’s the romance. I won’t talk about it too much (because spoilers!), but it’s adorable and probably my favourite couple in any drama (Japanese or Korean) that I have seen. It’s just such a healthy relationship; they treat each other right, look out for each other, protect each other…

I also really liked how they focused on the power of the media. The drama makes really important points about how a majority of the people blindly believes anything that the media tells them, especially journalists, since they assume that journalists did their work right and are telling the truth.

All in all: a powerful, yet light drama, with quite some dark and angsty moments, that will make you laugh and cry (possibly at the same time) and there’s a possibility you won’t have a heart left once you’re finished. Just trust me and watch it so you can join me in this slump.

I felt so cryptic writing this, but it’s best going into this not knowing too much.

Have you seen Pinocchio? What did you think of it? I’ve asked this before, but if you’re new here: what is your favourite K-drama? Pinocchio has definitely made my list of all time favourite!

signature

11 thoughts on “Review: Pinocchio

  1. Pinocchio has left me in a little slump and by far, this is my favourite drama of 2016 and I really think Lee Jong Suk and Park Shin Hye are like the best couple! I want them to go out in real life! They do photoshoots together and things like that and they’re just adorable together! :) This drama made me cry! Why Did it have to end!?

  2. I haven’t watched this drama but I’ve heard nothing but amazing things! Great review! Watching too many dramas put me in a ridiculous reading slump but I still can’t help it. So many great dramas this year. I’m so excited to watch Descendants of the Sun!

  3. This post has the perfect timing! I’ve finished all my tv series and I’m craving for some Koreanovelas. I will get to this soon!

    PS For some reasons, I remembered your Min Hye here!

Send an owl

