#FirstLineFriday

Thank you Kat for tagging me! So what is this tag about you ask?

The Rules:

  1. You create a blog post on your own blog entitled β€œ#FirstLineFriday”, hashtag and all.
  2. You explain the rules.
  3. You post the first one or two lines of a potential story, a WIP, or a completed or published story.
  4. You ask your readers for feedback and encourage them to try and do #FirstLineFriday.

I’ll be sharing the first line of The Army of Quermo, my main WIP. I thought I had already shared it, but after thoroughly searching my blog, it turns out I hadn’t. Here’s the first line:

Everyone has heard the story of Lucifer who was banned from Heaven, but many do not know what happened afterwards.

This is the part where I awkwardly ask you guys for feedback haha, because the rules tell me toΒ πŸ™ˆ

I tag:

Marie | Cait | Brett | Eve | Elm | Joan | Josie | YOU!

Don’t feel obligated to do this if I tagged you! But it is fun, so I do recommend it.

How long does it take you to come up with your first line? And do you change it drastically later on, or does it stay sort of the same? Let me know in the comments!

signature

28 thoughts on “#FirstLineFriday

  1. I had no idea that your WIP was about Lucifer!!! Well, first of all it makes me think of the show and that has me instantly intrigued! (even though I am aware that it’s different, but Lucifer as a topic is kind of interesting in general)

  2. Thanks for the tag, Michelle! :D The first sentence of the book I just wrote is kind of….dramatic. hehe. It needs SO much work, omg, I’m dreading editing that catastrophe. Anyway. Your first sentence really sets up what your story is going to be about which is awesome. :’) But, to give a smaaaaall critique, it doesn’t tell us who’s going to narrate and an epic tip I heard somewhere was that the first sentence should introduce the narrator. But it depends on the book/genre too, I suppose. :)

  3. Is this the first line of your novel? Cause I read it and was like ohhhh interesting and then I realised it wasn’t from a published book!!! Well done chick! That’s a really great first line totally so catchy!

    Also I suck at starting novels! I’ll be sitting in front of my laptop 100% sure how I want the next 6 chapters to go but then spend like 20mins writing and rewriting the first paragraph cause I have no idea how to start it hahaha!

  4. The first line has me excited and intrigued! Can’t wait till it’s published ( because I have no doubt that it won’t be). Honestly couldn’t say how many times I’ve stared at my WIP opening line trying to see if I like it or not. Probably for me the hardest part!

  5. Oooh, I like it! That’s a fabulous first liner Michelle, I hope I get to read the whole thing sometime soon! πŸ˜‰
    Thank you for tagging me! I haven’t done a tag in a while now.

  6. Ohhh, that’s a really good first line! It usually doesn’t take long for me to come up with a first line to but have one I really like is another story γƒΎ(Β΄β–½ο½€;)ゝ

Send an owl

