Blogsterdam: The Cat Boat

Blogsterdam is supposed to be a monthly thing but alas, the blogger behind this blog is very forgetful. The fact that the last Blogsterdam was in January and it’s now the end of April is proof of this. But hey, it’sΒ the end of April, which means she almost missed April as well, but she didn’t!Β Anyway, Blogsterdam is a blogging series in which this forgetful blogger talks about her hometown Amsterdam, as the city is so much more than drugs, cheese and the Red Light District.

Last month I went to visit the ‘Poezenboot’, which translates to the Cats Boat. I had never heard of it, but it’s been in Amsterdam for many years now, so I find it weird that I only found out about it last month! I went to make a radio item and since I was focused on that I forgot to take a picture of the outside. This picture is from their website:

I first worried that the cats may not have a lot of space, but when I got inside that thankfully wasn’t the case. The cats have plenty of space and can walk outside as well (I don’t know if you can see it in the picture, but there’s gauze so the cats can’t fall off the boat). There are also plenty of toys and scratching posts inside.

While it’s an animal shelter, you can walk inside to take a look and play with the cats as well. When I went there the cats weren’t really in the mood to be petted or played with though. I only petted one cat. Speaking of which, there are certain cats you’re not allowed to pet because they can attack you, but there are pictures of those cats on the walls. Entrance is free, but if you can do donate! Or buy buttons or a hoodie (I’m not being paid to say all this I just love cats)

Now time for some adorableness!

IMG_0463 IMG_0464

IMG_0465 IMG_0466

IMG_0470 IMG_0471

IMG_0467Β Β IMG_0469

Β IMG_0473IMG_0472

Important information
Opening hours: 13:00 – 15:00, closed on Wednesdays and Sundays
Address:Β Singel 38
Entrance fee: free

So if you love cats and you’re in Amsterdam, definitely go there!

Have you ever been to the Cats Boat? More importantly, do you love cats? (it’s okay if you don’t I won’t chase you with pitchforks no worries)

signature

27 thoughts on “Blogsterdam: The Cat Boat

Send an owl

