Review: Miss Peregrine Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

missperegrine

Genre: Ya | fantasy
Goodreads rating: 3.83 | 4.06 | 4.16
My rating: ★★★★ |  ★★★ |  ★★

summary

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive (Goodreads).

I’m only sharing the summary for the first book, as the summaries for the other two could spoil the previous ones.

review

When I first finished Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children I wasn’t really planning on reviewing it. I just didn’t have that much to say; I enjoyed it, the plot was pretty tense, the pictures were cool, the characters seemed quirky and interesting and the romance irked me (it just went so fast and I don’t even understand how/why they fell in love. It looks like Emma just fell for Jacob because he looks so much like his grandfather and that’s really creepy and not really healthy but okay).

And that was it. That would’ve been a really short review right? So last month I finally got around to Hollow City and Library of Souls, and both took me so long to finish (okay when I look at my Goodreads apparently it didn’t take me that long, but it felt like ages). They were incredibly dull and in both cases it felt like everything could’ve been resolved already. There were way too many descriptions and especially in Library of Souls I felt like yelling ‘SHOW DON’T TELL’.

There were characters introduced in Hollow City that were never mentioned again and made me wonder what the point of them was. While I thought the main kids were quirky and fun in the first book, I couldn’t even tell most of them apart anymore in the last two (seriously I was so glad that Hollow City had a character guide). They were all very bland and I couldn’t care less about them. It also didn’t help that it felt like nothing was at stake. Even if I liked them/cared about them, I wouldn’t worry for their safety, because it was clear that no one was going to die (Spoiler: okay so Fiona died. One character who barely appeared anyway in the first book and quickly left them in Hollow City. Not to mention it was off page. And I’m talking about the main characters, I know some supporting characters died, but I didn’t care about them either). The only one I cared about was Addison. No one hurt that little doggie you hear me. Okay and I did like Sharon, but if he had died I wouldn’t have shed a tear either.

While the pictures actually added something to the story in Miss Peregrine, in Hollow City and Library of Souls it felt like most of them were just added for the sake of adding pictures. Riggs wrote things into the story that were not relevant at all, just so he could add a picture.

There were some interesting things, but the books just dragged on. So many things could’ve been left out. Hollow City itself was pretty pointless. Most of the things that happened weren’t that relevant to the overal plot and it was definitely suffering from second book syndrome. Sadly Library of Souls was even worse in the terms of nothing happening.

And don’t even get me started on the ending. I figured it would end conveniently like that. It just made me roll my eyes.

All in all, I’m very disappointed in this series. It sounded really interesting and I did enjoy the first book, but it quickly went downhill. Don’t let this review stop you from reading it though! As you’re probably aware of it’s very popular, so I’m in the minority.

How do you feel about Miss Peregrine’s? Are you excited for the film? Let me know in the comments!

signature

17 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

  1. Heya! I quite liked the first book, but not so much as to want to read the sequels :) I didn’t care much for the writing style somehow. Plus I found the pictures a little creepy. Like are they real? fabricated? what? I’d still want to watch the movie though, provided I have someone to hold my hand through it :P

  2. I really liked the first book, and I want to read the sequels but I’ve heard such bad things about them… Trouble is, I don’t want to spoil my love for the first book! But at least I don’t think I’ll buy the next two books… library it is. Y’know, just in case. ;D
    PS: I think the pictures are real! It’s amazing how creepy old photos can be.

  3. What disappointed me about these books (or really the first and like 50 pages of the second) is how NOT creepy they were. I’ve read so much fantasy that kids with odd, sorry, peculiar traits didn’t feel new. I was expecting something super creepy and dark considering the photos and the cover, but was severely let down.
    I’m glad I’ve found book buddies who also just don’t get this series.

Send an owl

