Review: Rise of the Dragons by Morgan Rice

Genre: Ya | fantasy
Series: Kings and Sorcerers #1
Goodreads rating: 3.85
My rating: ★

summary

Kyra, 15, dreams of becoming a famed warrior, like her father, even though she is the only girl in a fort of boys. As she struggles to understand her special skills, her mysterious inner power, she realizes she is different than the others. But a secret is being kept from her about her birth and the prophecy surrounding her, leaving her to wonder who she really is.

When Kyra comes of age and the local lord comes to take her away, her father wants to wed her off to save her. Kyra, though, refuses, and she journeys out on her own, into a dangerous wood, where she encounters a wounded dragon—and ignites a series of events that will change the kingdom forever.

15 year old Alec, meanwhile, sacrifices for his brother, taking his place in the draft, and is carted off to The Flames, a wall of flames a hundred feet high that wards off the army of Trolls to the east. On the far side of the kingdom, Merk, a mercenary striving to leave behind his dark past, quests through the wood to become a Watcher of the Towers and help guard the Sword of Fire, the magical source of the kingdom’s power. But the Trolls want the Sword, too—and they prepare for a massive invasion that could destroy the kingdoms forever (Goodreads).

review

Oh boy where do I start? This book was a mess. I really doubt an editor looked at this because there were so many typos and even grammar mistakes that it was ridiculous. It was full of info dumps and the author explained the same things again and again, barely adding anything new. Just because you’re now telling the story from a different character’s perspective, doesn’t mean you have to explain the war again. We get it. We’re not stupid. Speaking of which, so much telling instead of showing.

Kyra of course is a special snowflake. She’s been training for like two years but can of course beat an entire army on her own. She knows better than her father, a Commander apparently, and is naturally loved by almost everyone. Boy, it’s surprising that there’s no love triangle yet!
The other characters are just as bland and I wasn’t attached to anyone but Kyra’s wolf Leo.

The summary makes it sound like Alec and Merk are (sort of) main characters as well, and we do get their pov’s, along with the troll king, but it wasn’t much and it barely added anything at all. Alec sort of had his own story, but I really wonder what the point of Merk and the troll king was. And oh my God the troll king was so stereotypically evil. So was the Lord Governor, who is the main villain.

And the plot. Um yeah. So the entire plot felt like the beginning of a book, except A LOT longer and slower. It was so dull and nothing happened. Yeah it’s the first book in a series, so it’s leading up to the rest of the books, but um. Dear Morgan Rice, the way you wrote the first book really doesn’t make me want to continue the rest of the series. Or read any of your other books. And oh my God the ending. It really made me roll my eyes. How convenient how it all ended.

Oh and for a book called ‘Rise of the Dragons’ THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH DRAGONS. There is one. ONE. And it plays a very small role.

I would not recommend this at all, even if it were still up for free at Amazon.

Have you read this, or anything else by Morgan Rice? What was your latest 1-star rating? Let me know in the comments!

signature

16 thoughts on “Review: Rise of the Dragons by Morgan Rice

  1. Oh, I have this in my iPod from when it was free, but I don’t think I’ll read it now. Not enough dragons with a title like that? 🤔 Not much rising then, is there?

    • I know right?! It’s so ridiculous. They shouldn’t have called it Rise of the DRAGONS if there’s only one dragon and it appears for like ten pages (if not less, I have no idea how many pages there were since I read it on my phone). I felt deceived.

  2. Glad I read your review. The title and description actually seemed like something I’d read. Whenever I hear about point of view shifts, I immediately think of GRRM and how he’s excellent at that. Telling vs. showing bugs me, too. It’s the major issue I had with Sanderson’s Mistborn Trilogy, though apparently his other works are much better in that department. Great review!

    • Glad to help 😊 I love pov shifts if done right, sadly this was not the case for this book. I haven’t read Mistborn, but I’ve heard a lot of praise for it. I don’t know how I feel about reading it if there’s a lot of telling instead of showing :/ thanks! :)

      • I’ve heard so much praise for Sanderson that I want to give him another chance. I didn’t like Neil Gaiman when I first read him, but I heard nothing but good things from people I like and respect so I was very happy I found Stardust and then loved Ocean at the End of the Lane even more. I went back to American Gods (which was the first of his books I tried and that turned me off) and found I was okay with his writing of it now! I really do try to give people chances. I’m going to reread the first Wheel of Time book soon, because it was over a decade ago, and people do nothing but praise Jordan and compare him to GRRM who’s my favorite author. It’s worth another shot. I’d give the first Mistborn a try if I were you. The story is very compelling, but the tell instead of show was definitely apparent for me.

      • The Ocean at the End of the Lane was my first Gaiman book, Stardust the second. I’m really glad they were, because I tried reading American Gods last year and couldn’t get into it. I’m planning on trying again someday though. I will give Mistborn a shot! :)

  3. […] I FINALLY finished Fairy Tales From the Brothers Grimm. I thought I had started it this year, but apparently it was September 2015? I’m really bad at reading short stories guys. I have a post about it coming up this week. I also finished Anne of Green Gables. It took me a while since I found the beginning a bit slow and boring, but once I got into it I flew through it. Then today I started and finished The Hero, The Sword and Dragons, which was really bad. But hey, at least there were dragons. […]

Send an owl

