Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

starsabove

Genre: Ya | fairytale retelling | sci-fi
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4.5
Goodreads rating: 4.38
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

The Keeper: A prequel to the Lunar Chronicles, showing a young Scarlet and how Princess Selene came into the care of Michelle Benoit.
Glitches: In this prequel to Cinder, we see the results of the plague play out, and the emotional toll it takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….
The Queen’s Army: In this prequel to Scarlet, we’re introduced to the army Queen Levana is building, and one soldier in particular who will do anything to keep from becoming the monster they want him to be.
Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: Thirteen-year-old Carswell Thorne has big plans involving a Rampion spaceship and a no-return trip out of Los Angeles.
After Sunshine Passes By: In this prequel to Cress, we see how a nine-year-old Cress ended up alone on a satellite, spying on Earth for Luna.
The Princess and the Guard: In this prequel to Winter, we see a game called The Princess
The Little Android
: A retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid,” set in the world of The Lunar Chronicles.
The Mechanic: In this prequel to Cinder, we see Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s perspective.
Something Old, Something New: In this epilogue to Winter, friends gather for the wedding of the century…
 (Goodreads)

review

WARNING: Do not read this review if you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet

I love how we learn more about the main characters’ backgrounds. Amazingly it made me love the characters even more, which I didn’t think was possible!

The Keeper
This story isn’t just about Cinder coming into Michelle Benoit’s care, but of course also about Michelle and Scarlet’s relationship. While I felt really sad when Michelle died during Scarlet, I wasn’t that emotional or involved, since we never really saw their relationship. So thank you Marissa Meyer for completely crushing my heart because they had such an amazing relationship and Michelle Benoit was really an incredible woman. And of course reading about how Selene came into her care was really interesting too.

Glitches
The only one I had already read back when I first read Cinder, as it was at the end of my copy. I never reviewed it back then though. I loved seeing young Cinder, her meeting her new ‘family’, playing with Peony and meeting Iko for the first time. Young Cinder broke my heart; trying to fit in and getting her new family to accept her. I’ll adopt you Cinder

The Queen’s Army
Oh my Stars smol Wolf can I just grab him and hug him because the poor boy needs it. Especially when he vows to never end up on the operation table again and you remember what happened in Winter hahaha NO. Marissa Meyer why must you do this to us. And to your characters. Hasn’t Wolf gone through enough

Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky
While I love all the stories, this one is definitely one of my favourites. It’s not just a fun read (because Thorne), it also explained so much about Thorne as a person. I understand him so much better after reading this story, and I love him even more.

After Sunshine Passes By
Oh my Stars poor little naive Cress come here you can live on Earth with me. We already knew from the book Cress that Cress thought she was going to Earth instead of a satellite, but actually reading her thoughts was so heartbreaking.

The Princess and The Guard
Okay this was ADORABLE. While Jacin is my least favourite of the eight (doesn’t mean I don’t love him!), I always loved his relationship with Winter and this made me love it even more. In fact, it made me appreciate Jacin more too. And ugh can I hug Winter. Basically I want to take all of these characters in.

The Little Android
I didn’t expect this one to be about an android we hadn’t met yet! I thought it would be about Iko, so I went in thinking it was Iko’s background story and was quickly confused haha. I love this twist on The Little Mermaid though and even though it was about characters that I didn’t know yet and had no attachment to, I really enjoyed it.

The Mechanic
This one and Something Old, Something New are tied for the first place. I had already read an excerpt back when Stars Above was announced and oh my Stars do I love this story. More scenes that were originally from Cinder’s perspective from Kai’s please. He’s such a dork I love him.

Something Old, Something New
Obviously I won’t tell you who’s getting married, but if you’re like me and ship all the ships, you have nothing to lose anyway. Plus the entire crew is back together and it’s beautiful. I love their friendship so much. It’s so nice to see them all hang out and have fun, instead of running for their lives. Is it greedy to ask for more

So basically I loved it and it’s beautiful and perfect just go read it if you haven’t yet seriously what are you waiting for

Have you read Stars Above yet? How did you feel about it? Was the wedding a surprise or did you suspect it was going to be between these two characters? (do be careful of spoiling people who haven’t read it yet though!) And which story was your favourite? Let me know in the comments!

signature

9 thoughts on “Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

  1. I’m so excited to read Stars Above! I absolutely LOVED reading The Lunar Chronicles and the characters are amazing, but I haven’t read it yet. Your review makes me want to read it even more now!

  2. I’ve honestly been really conflicted on reading Stars Above. I love the Lunar Chronicles, but I really can’t read short stories. I really struggle and never end up finishing it. I actually already know who gets married because I’m trash and saw spoilers on Tumblr.

    • Aww that’s a shame! :( I know how you feel though, I had the same problem with The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass short stories) I really had to force myself to finish it. I really enjoyed these short stories though! Ah no :( It’s still an enjoyable story though, but if you can’t read short stories I don’t know if you’d have trouble with these as well

  3. YES IT WAS PERFECT AND AMAZING AND ADORABLE AND THE FIRST STORIES WERE ALL OKAY BUT THE LAST ONE JUST MADE ME GRIN LIKE AN IDIOT FOR HOURS ON END. MY PARENTS THOUGHT THERE WAS SOMETHING PHYSICALLY WRONG WITH ME.
    -Amy

  4. […] This reminds me that I need to get my hands on Heartless. Also Wires and Nerves is almost out!! But I should talk about this book instead. If you’re a fan of The Lunar Chronicles and haven’t read this one yet, I really recommend it. I felt like I got to know the characters a little bit better (even though I think the main books already do a superb job at that) and it was just a lot of fun, especially the last story. Read my review here. […]

Send an owl

