Mini Reviews: Forever and All The What Ifs

DON’T FORGET: TONIGHT #YOUNGWRITERSCHAT 9 PM CEST

Genre: Ya | paranormal | romance
Series: The Abandoned #1
Goodreads rating: 3.92
My rating: ★

summary

Rich, popular Kate Hewitt destroys lives at Sussex High. Mute, violent Kev Anderwaith hasn’t been to school in months. On the day Kev does return, Kate is shocked when the overgrown, social outcast sits next to her in class and claims they’ve both lived previous lives, and keep finding each other, throughout the centuries, falling in love every time.

review

Guess why I downloaded this one. It was free. Come on, we’re all weak to free books right? And I’ve always been a sucker for stories featuring previous lives. Unfortunately this book is all over the place. Kate doesn’t remember her previous life and hates Kev, the next second she’s in love with him.

Kate was incredibly unlikable, and I had no idea why Kev, a genuinely nice guy, would fall in love with her. He remembers their past lives, and apparently Kate was nice and caring in her previous life, but that’s not who Kate is in this life. Yet Kev’s in love with her, and I have no idea why. These two have no chemistry, which is kind of crucial when your plot revolves around people who keep falling in love with each other every time they’re reborn.

Throughout the entire book it just felt like it was about their romance, then suddenly towards the end the author decided to introduce some kind of demons which felt really out of place and spoiler: of course Kate, without any memories and training, manages to kill one without much difficulty. 

All in all, I really wouldn’t recommend it (but it’s probably still up for free on Amazon and it’s really short so if you’re interested check it out! Besides don’t let my negativity turn you off if you want to read it)

Genre: Ya | contemporary
Goodreads rating: 4.45
My rating: ★★★

summary

Ashley Morgan is trapped. She’s spent the last three years of high school being groomed to follow in her father’s footsteps. It’s a future she’s unsure of. Yet she tries her hardest to avoid her father’s disapproval while keeping the peace for her high-strung mother and autistic brother. Whenever her fears fester, Ashley works harder.

At the start of her senior year, Ashley reluctantly joins ACT an after-school community service club that is in disarray. The members argue. The advisor sleeps. And Lucas Malone, the club’s president, conjures unwanted memories of freshman year and his disastrous attempt to ask her to homecoming.

Ashley tries to remain uninvolved, but with each success in ACT she gains the confidence to face her future. She sets in motion plans that force her to choose between the bright future her father’s mapped out or an unknown path of her own design. When the moment comes to make her choice, she’s plagued with doubt, because what if … she gets it all wrong?

review

If you’ve dealt with (psychological) abuse you may find this book a bit triggering. I did at some points, so you may want to stay away from it. I seriously considered to quit it, but I continued one and I’m glad I did. I really like the ending of the book, though obviously I can’t give it away, so spoiler section:

Ashley is kicked out of her house and at the end of the book, she hasn’t seen her family in quite some time. Her father is never excused for his abusive behaviour, and we’re shown that her mother isn’t perfect either. I felt that the ending was quite realistic, though I hoped that her mother would leave her father and take her back in. That wasn’t who her mom was though. I think I expected that to happen because I was comparing Ashley’s situation with my old one, instead of really thinking of who her mom was and what we had learned about her through Ashley’s grandparents. Because of this I never thought that Ashley’s mom was the one who broke contact with her parents, instead of her husband forcing her to. 

It was empowering to read about Ashley standing up for herself, her relationships with her brother, new friends and counselor were fun and heartwarming to read, though I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the romance. It was cute, but something bothered me, though I can’t quite put my finger on what it is. All in all, a short, fun read. While at times it felt really light (like some of the cute romance scenes or when Ashley’s friends are joking around – seriously those girls were my favourite part. Like one of them dated a lot of guys, and while they joked about it, they never slut shamed her or made her feel uncomfortable. They knew that she would laugh at their jokes), it also dealt with some heavy topics in a right way. As someone who can relate to Ashley, I think the author did a good job.

Oh and this one was also up for free on Amazon and if it still is I really recommend it.

Have you read one of these? What did you think? If not, what have you been reading lately? Let me know in the comments!

signature

7 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Forever and All The What Ifs

  1. Ooh, that second one sounds interesting! As if I don’t have enough to read haha :-P That first one though… Nothing is worse than a romantic book with bad romance!

  2. The second one sounds quite interesting, so I might have to check it out! I love that idea for a spoiler section. :-) How do you change the color though? I haven’t been able to figure that out…
    -Amy

Send an owl

