Blogsterdam: My Favourite Bookstore

Blogsterdam is supposed to be a monthly thing but alas, the blogger behind this blog is very forgetful. Proof: the last one was posted in April, it is now July. Anyway, Blogsterdam is a blogging series in which this forgetful blogger talks about her hometown Amsterdam, as the city is so much more than drugs, cheese and the Red Light District.

Today I’m going to talk to you guys about my favourite bookstore in Amsterdam: The American Book Center. There are quite a few others that also solely sell English books (like Waterstones, which is my second favourite), but when I go out to buy books I’ll always automatically go to ABC first.

IMG_1864IMG_1863

They often have really nice displays and I’ve seen drawings like these on the windows before. I had to take a picture of this one though, because it’s just so cute.

The other photos used in the post are from ABC’s blog because whenever I’m there I feel too awkward to take pictures haha.

In the middle of the store there’s a tree, which makes the store so unique and adds to the atmosphere.

   

How cool is this? Fun fact: it took me a while to notice the tree, because I was too distracted by the books the first times I went there

The books are cheaper than at Waterstones (price difference between paperbacks at both stores really isn’t funny) and as a student I get a discount when I show my ID. I’m not 100% sure but I think that if you’re not from The Netherlands and show your student ID you’ll get a discount as well.

And of course, very important: the staff is lovely and helpful. I’ve never felt uncomfortable and I always feel welcome. There’s another bookstore that solely sells English books (and is often cheap) but the atmosphere there is so bad. The staff isn’t really friendly and make me feel like they want me to leave as soon as possible. I don’t want to bash another store while praising another one so I won’t call them by name, but thankfully this isn’t the case AT ALL at ABC.

Waterstones does have a bigger YA collection, but it’s still a pretty good one that ABC has. Also note: some books aren’t necessarily in the YA collection, but among the other fantasy books (like Marissa Meyer). So don’t immediately give up if you can’t find what you’re looking for! They also have a big manga and graphic novels collection.

They don’t just sell books, but I also got a lunchbox that looks like a Gameboy there and other fun stuff like that and Pop Funkos for example. They also have some stuff from Blossom Books (a Dutch YA publisher) like Shut Up I’m Writing or Reading mugs, bookmarks etc. And of course cute tote bags.

Important information:
Address: Spui 12 (really easily to reach by tram)
Opening hours: Monday 12:00 – 20:00 | Tuesday to Saturday 10:00 – 20:00 | Sunday 11:00 – 18:30
Don’t forget your student ID!

What’s your favourite bookstore where you live? Let me know in the comments!

signature

47 thoughts on “Blogsterdam: My Favourite Bookstore

  1. The last time I was there most paperbacks I compared Waterstones had cheaper 😕🤔 But the times before that ABC had always been cheaper so I was a bit dissapointed.

    • Oh that’s so weird! I always find them cheaper at ABC :/ Maybe that was a one time thing? Still odd though! Yeah understandable, I’d be disappointed too!

  2. THERE’S A TREE IN A BOOK STORE!?!?! THAT’S SO COOL!! I love book stores that have a friendly atmosphere, like you feel like you can actually take your time to browse (plus if there are lots of shelves/it’s a big shop the people at the tills can’t see you anyway so you can be more relaxed)

    • YESSSSS. There are three floors and I never feel looked at, adding to why I feel so at home. ‘Cause you’re right I hate it when I feel like I’m being watched I just want to take my time and stare at all the books 😊

  3. This sounds like a lovely place! I’m glad you feel at home here, there was a bookstore near me as well where I felt at home but now they’ve shut and the other bookstore sucks. :-( I’d love to trip through europe one day, will add this place to my list.

  4. Oh that bookstore looks amazing. I usually make a monthly trip to the Barnes and Noble, because I want to keep brick and mortar stores alive, but I so love independently owned and used bookstores. Just the smell alone, AND there’s a tree. There’s a statement that can be made about this. The foundation of the items in the midst of the items. It love it for that alone!

    • Barnes and Noble is definitely on my list of bookstores to visit one day! It’s definitely an amazing bookstore that’s worth the visit :) Same here! I always go into an independently owned bookstore to see if I can find something and support them. And indeed the smell is amazing haha

  5. I still am mad that, last time I was in Amsterdam, I didn’t get enough time to go and visit that bookstore. I need to go there next time for sure, it sounds so amazing. And to be honest, a place where I will just spend a whole day in hahaha.

  6. Lovely post! Feeling quite sad that I didn’t get to visit this bookstore (I was in Amsterdam just a week ago) but next time for sure :)
    My favourite bookstores are now mostly independent ones. If you ever get to visit London, I highly recommend Daunt Books. :)

  7. OH MY GOSH I WANT. Seriously, if I ever go to Amsterdam, my parents will ask me what I want to do, and I will say: WE NEED TO GO TO THIS BOOKSTORE STAT. EVERY SINGLE DAY. I DON’T CARE ABOUT ANYTHING ELSE HERE. YES, WE CAME ALL THIS WAY FOR A BOOKSTORE, AND NO, IT’S NOT JUST A BOOKSTORE. THERE’S A TREE IN IT.
    -Amy

Send an owl

