The Unexpected List Review – Aaay Puns

IMG_2148Genre: Ya | contemporary
Goodreads rating: 4.17
My rating:  ★★★★

 

 

 

 

 

 

summary

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that? (Goodreads)

review

Okay so it’s been a while since I finished this (I feel like it’s been a month, but my sense of time has been off ever since I finished school) and thus my memory is failing me a bit. Which means I’ll be doing a list review!

Whatiliked

  • FRIENDSHIP. So much friendship I loved it. And the friends weren’t pushed aside once the relationship started. I loved their interactions, text messages, traditions and inside jokes
  • FAMILY. Andie’s relationship with her dad developed beautifully. When the book starts they barely know each other, by the end they’re a lot closer and comfortable with each other again which is great to see. It was also great to see her father become more of a human being and a Dad and less of a polished politician
  • CUTE LOVE INTEREST AND HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP. Remember my discussion on the romanticisation of abusive relationships? I’m so glad that Morgan Matson portrayed not just a realistic relationship, but also a healthy one. Their first date was super awkward because they didn’t know each other that well, but they started to talk more and more, getting to know each other better, ‘writing’ their own story together (which is super cute) and joking around. Also said love interest is a writer. Which was super cool
  • EMOJIS. How could I have not realised before that a lot of YA books taking place during our time should use these? Not only was it fun, it also made it a lot more realistic
  • DOGS. Dogs are always a plus. Unless they die. I’m looking at you certain author who broke my heart and traumatised me, you know who you are

whatididn'tlike

  • SLOW PACE. While I wasn’t necessarily bored and the scenes sure were entertaining and cute to read, it was a bit too long. The plot definitely didn’t need that
  • Speaking of which, there wasn’t much plot. It’s mostly character driven as it focuses on Andie’s growth of a character, her relationship with her dad, with Clark and with her friends. While I sure enjoyed it, it didn’t feel like much happened
  • LACK OF THE PUG. HE’S ON THE BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK OF MY EDITION. YET HE PLAYS A MINIMAL ROLE. DON’T WORRY PUG I STILL LOVE YOU (obviously this wasn’t a MAJOR setback lol, but I sure felt deceived)

I’m sure I would’ve had some tiny other points if I had reviewed it a bit sooner, but these are my most important points. This was my first Morgan Matson book, and certainly not the last!

Have you read The Unexpected Everything? What did you think? Were you also offended by the lack of the pug? Don’t get me wrong, Bernie is adorable. BUT PUG. STAND UP FOR THE PUGS. 

signature

6 thoughts on “The Unexpected List Review – Aaay Puns

  1. I haven’t read this one yet – although its on my list. And definitely disappointed to hear there is a distinct lack of pug lol. Otherwise glad you generally liked it :) Thanks for sharing.

    • You should definitely read it! :) Haha yeah, he appeared for a few pages in the very beginning but never reappeared :( Hope you’ll like it as well!

  2. I’m glad to hear you liked this book! I’m a huge fan of all of Morgan Matson’s books, and I can’t wait to get to that one. I heard it’s a bit long for a contemporary, but I like character-driven stories so, hopefully, I should enjoy that one! :)

    • Yeah it is a bit long, but if you enjoy character-driven stories I’m sure you won’t mind! :) It definitely could’ve been shorter, but the scenes that could’ve been cut were fun to read about nonetheless!

Send an owl

