#ReadThemAllThon Sign up and TBR Pile

So the awesome Aentee had the amazing idea to organise a readathon inspired by Pokémon. Naturally I have to participate. How can I not? Click on her name to be taken to her explanation post. The readathon runs from August 14th to September 4th which is perfect, because school starts again the next day.


Chosen Pokémon

I love all the Kanto starters, but since I always pick a water Pokemon as my starter, Squirtle has a special place in my heart (I don’t have a Squirtle plushie yet and this definitely needs to change soon. Same with Charmander). Aentee has added something extra to win points (CP: combat power) Since Squirtle has three evolutions I’d be able to get more points, since you get extra points when your Pokémon evolves. You get those points from each 10 pages you read and other little challenges (check out her post for all the details!)


The Gyms a.k.a. the Challenges

For this readathon I’m mostly going to try to read books I already own, since I need to save money (for London in October!) and those unread books deserve some love.

Pewter Gym: The First Book In A Series

Merlin: The Lost Years. It’s been on my shelves for two years now I think. It’s time I finally read it. I do have more first books in series on my kindle app (yay for Amazon freebies lol), but seriously, I need to read this and a readathon is the perfect opportunity.

326 pages, potential +32CP

Cerulean Gym: A Book That Might Make You Cry

Les Miserables, which again has been on my shelves for quite some time (about as long as Merlin I think haha. Though I put Merlin off because back then I was still waaay too attached to BBC Merlin (still am. I can’t see any other actors portray those characters) and Les Mis because it’s so intimidating) Even though its size is incredibly daunting, it’s time to at least start it. I’m going to be realistic and not aim to actually finish this, but I want to at least start it. IT’S TIME. And I know it will make me cry because the film did and I’m very emotional.

According to Goodreads my copy has 1263 pages, so potential +123CP (not like I’m going to read 1263 pages anyway lol)

Vermillion Gym: A Book With Thunderous Hype

Wink Poppy Midnight. I’m not sure if it’s still hyped, but a few months ago before it was published I saw it on a lot of blogs. Also it’s quite short which is ideal for a readathon.

247 pages, potential +24CP

Celadon Gym: A Book That Focuses on Diversity

I HAVE NOTHING. NOTHING. Not on my shelves, Kindle app or ibooks app anyway (that is unread) so please recommend me something (that is a bit popular so that I can find it here in The Netherlands). Only for this challenge I’ll go out and buy something

Fuschia Gym: A Book With A Great Romance

Persuasion. Fun fact: I tried to read this two years ago for another readathon but I wasn’t in the mood. I really want to read more of the classics I own (just remembered that that is one of my 2016 goals lol) and I loved P&P, so I need to read more Jane Austen anyway

249 pages, potential +24CP

Saffron Gym: A Book With Fantasy/Supenatural Elements

Talisman by S.E. Akers. It sounds like an interesting read and has good ratings on Goodreads (though not that many). I really hope that it is interesting since it has 600+ pages and if it’s a slow read it’s not a good choice for a readathon… If I really can’t get through it I’ll drop it and choose another freebie on my Kindle app though, since I’ve got quite a few fantasy reads to choose from.

642 pages, potential +64CP

Cinnabar Gym: A Book With A Red Cover

Harry Potter Film Wizardry. This will most likely be a quick read, so perfect to balance out some of the bigger ones.

160 pages, potential +16CP

Viridian Gym: A Book With Post-Apocalyptic Setting

Born to Magic. This one was quite difficult since I didn’t think I had one, but I looked through my Kindle app and searched for each one of them on Goodreads and voila: Born to Magic was found. It takes place in the future when technology no longer exists, but magic does.

345 pages, potential +34CP


Well it’s a good thing this readathon lasts three weeks because this is a very ambitious tbr (lightly put lol). Are you participating? Let me know in the comments!

32 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon Sign up and TBR Pile

  1. This is such an awesome idea!! I just might have to participate :D I love the timing of it, too, because it’ll give me an extra push to finally finish those books I’ve been meaning to get around to reading all summer haha

    • Haha I don’t find Pokemon Go that addicting, I just play it whenever I go out, but otherwise I found myself able to focus on my studies, writing etc anyway. Though of course it’s different for everyone. It’s definitely a fun game though!

  2. I’m joining in as well! I’m so excited for this readathon :D I still haven’t decided on my pokemon I have my TBR but choosing my pokemon? There are to many options! Great TBR list :)

  3. Great book choices and cute Pokemon! XD I’m posting my TBR right about now…. And I’m super excited! I hope to read more than eight books (I mean, some of mine are fairly short, so…) and overall take full advantage of the readathon! Good luck with your books (especially the 1000 page one) and I look forward to seeing your progress!
    -Amy

    • Thanks! Ooh I hope you’ll be able to read more than :) Haha thanks, I really wonder how far I’ll get into Les Mis. It will be a miracle if I manage to finish it during the readathon! Good luck to you too :)

  4. Have you considered An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir for your diversity choice? I only just started reading it, but it’s very compelling and has gotten great reviews! Your choices look like a lot of fun. Good luck!

  5. For diversity I recommend:
    More happy than not, (lgbtq)
    The rest of us just live here (lgbtq/mental health)
    Made you up (mental health)

    • I’ve already read The Rest of Us Just Live Here and Made You Up, but thanks for the recommendations! More Happy Than Not is actually on my TBR! Just need to see if they sell it in The Netherlands :)

Send an owl

