Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

therestofusGenre: Ya | contemporary | fantasy
Goodreads rating: 3.79
My rating:  ★★★★

summary

What if you aren t the Chosen One? The one who s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions (Goodreads).

review

LOVE LOVE LOVE the concept. I can’t be the only one who while reading/watching stories about the chosen ones and apocalypses and all that fun stuff what the normal kids are doing right? I absolutely adore headcanons about the stuff the regular Hogwarts students get up to while Harry, Ron and Hermione are solving mysteries and breaking like a hundred school rules. And what did the rest of Sunnydale got up to while the Scooby Gang was fighting vamps?

So obviously the moment I heard of this book I knew I needed it. Then I finished the Chaos Walking trilogy last month and found the hardcover copy for a really cheap price at the American Book Center, so I definitely needed it then.

While it wasn’t a five stars read for me, as it didn’t really blow me away, I immensely enjoyed it. I loved the sassy little summaries at the beginning of each chapter about what the chosen ones (or the indie kids as they are referred to) were up to during that chapter. The characters were all interesting and complex, their relationships with each other were great to read about and it all felt so realistic. Well, except for the fantasy stuff that’s happening of course, but I really loved how that was incorporated in the normal kids’ story. It was there and played a pretty big part, as they were all scared, but in the end it was more of a contemporary and I really liked that twist.

I really wonder how I would’ve felt about this book if I hadn’t unconsciously compared it to the Chaos Walking trilogy. I really didn’t want to, but how could I not? My expectations were really high because of that trilogy, so while the writing was still amazing, I couldn’t help but give it four stars because it didn’t blow me away like the Chaos Walking trilogy did. That said, I still really recommend this of course! I didn’t even really have any problems with it, it’s just not a five star read for me.

Have you read this yet? And speaking of Patrick Ness, are you excited for Class? (the Doctor Who spin-off written by Patrick Ness. And when I say written, I mean written. He has written every episode so my expectations are HIGH) I really can’t wait for this show. I’m actually more excited for it than for original show (I still haven’t finished season nine woops) Let me know in the comments!

signature

25 thoughts on “Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

  1. I am SO excited for Class!! (And you should finish S9 of Doctor Who because the last 2 episodes are fantastic and a really satisfying ending for Clara.) I loved The Rest of Us Just Live Here especially because of its ending (spoilers), where Mikey refuses to have his OCD magically cured and instead says he wants to figure it out by himself. I read it when I was just learning about my own OCD,which differs from Mikey, but the idea of being stuck in loops was definitely relatable.

    • Ooh I’m glad to hear that! I really liked the beginning of S9, but then I kind of lost motivation to watch. I’m still planning on watching it, just need to make myself finally do it lol. YES I HAD FORGOTTEN ABOUT THE ENDING! It’s been a while since I read it, but I really loved the ending as well.

  2. I read The Rest of Us Just Live here at the beginning of this year (or maybe the end of last year) and I remember loving the concept, the little blurbs at the beginning of each chapter, the character backgrounds, but like you I was overall not really blown away by the story. I think I ended up giving it 3.5 stars.

    • The concept is AMAZING. I love it so much, but yeah I wasn’t blown away. On one hand I wonder how I’d feel about it if I hadn’t read the Chaos Walking trilogy first, but on the other hand I still think I wouldn’t have been blown away. Besides the concept, the story wasn’t that memorable

  3. I completely agree with you! I had the exact same experience/expectations cause of Chaos Walking – oh man that series is so so so amazing! But yeah I can’t deny it made me a little underwhelmed about The Rest of Us… And I also found Mikey super annoying, but that’s another thing haha. Really enjoyable book though :) Great review!

    • It is! It’s definitely one of my favourite series – it’s so good!! Haha I can see why you’d find him annoying though I didn’t really have that problem myself :) thanks!

  4. I felt the same way about this book: I really enjoyed it, but it just doesn’t live up to the high standards set by some of Patrick Ness’ other books. *cough* MORE THAN THIS *cough* Still, it was fun and I thought the bizarre fantasy elements added a nice quirky spin to the story.
    Also, I CANNOT WAIT FOR CLASS :D

    • Haha yeah exactly! The concept is amazing and it kind of blows my mind that no one else had thought of it before. Stories about the chosen ones and all that have been around for so long now and are very popular, but no one thought of writing a story like that, but focussing on the regular minor characters in the chosen one’s story and make them the protagonist. Sorry to hear that you didn’t love it, did you at least enjoy it or not at all?

  5. I sort of felt the same about the book as you. I enjoyed it, but it didn’t blow my mind. The concept was genius though.
    AND I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT CLASS! I can’t quite picture how it will fit into the Who-verse quite yet, but I never can until I actually see an episode.

  6. I’m so glad you liked it! I liked TROUJLH (wow, that’s a mouthful) because of the insanely awesome concept, but although I enjoyed it a good bit, it fell a little flat for me. I guess I was just expecting more… And I have to confess, I rather enjoyed reading about the “special” ones at the beginning of the chapter.
    -Amy

    • Yeah it felt a bit flat to me too, thus why it didn’t blow me away sadly. And my expectations were incredibly high because I love Patrick Ness. I enjoyed them too! I couldn’t help but kind of wish to read their story after all, even though it wasn’t about them :P

      • Yes, I just felt like it could’ve been done better, maybe pulled off as a “magical realism” story-type-thing and instead of focusing on the fact that they WEREN’T the special ones, figuring out what makes them special. I haven’t read anything else by Patrick Ness, but I think I should give some of his other books a shot!
        Hahaha me too!

Send an owl

