One of My Favourite Cities: Rome

A while back Marie suggested I’d do a post about my trip to Rome now almost three years ago, and since my contemporary WIP/Cam NaNo project partly takes place in Rome, I really felt like doing this post now.

So about three years ago we went to Rome with school and I fell in love. This love has never gone away of course, but it burned up again while I was writing the part in Rome (it’s nowhere near perfect yet. I mostly focused on the scenes that had to happen there instead of the descriptions – and I really want to do the beauty of this city a lot more justice). Now I really want to go back (which I already did) and I just relived one of my favourite trips ever taken.

WHY DO I LOVE ROME SO MUCH?

Before we went I was already excited, but when I came back? Oh I wanted to go back immediately. Don’t get me wrong, I love Amsterdam and it’s not like I’d consider moving to Rome (for starters I’d have to learn Italian. And if I were to ever leave Amsterdam it’d be for London), but I just loved being there. One of the reasons why I love Rome is also one of the reasons I love Amsterdam: it’s historical. You can walk around and easily imagine how it was centuries ago (Amsterdam not as far back as Rome. When I’m in the centre of the city I mostly imagine the 17th century), it’s historical and magical. Are all the people friendly? Um no. Mostly the security guards are quite aggressive. They’ll start yelling at you in Italian quickly, but it’s not like everyone in such a big city (or in a small one) can be friendly, so who cares? It definitely didn’t ruin my experience. Part of why I love Rome so much is because I love history, art and architecture, which Rome is full of. There’s also the fact that I love food (which I’m sure most of you already know haha), especially Italian. But why it’s one of my favourite cities in the world is mostly because of the feeling the city gives me just thinking about it. I just love it.

MY TRIP 

I won’t tell you all the details, because it was a week long trip and so much happened, so I decided to just show some pictures (which is going to be hard because there are a lot of pictures) and tell you some of my favourite stories.

   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Let’s start at the Colosseum because that’s pretty much where we started our trip. Most people probably think of the Colosseum when they think of Rome. I loved walking there, imagining how it must have looked like roughly 2000 years ago.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Photoception haha

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

And of course it’s just beautiful, especially the way the sun shines through the archways ❤️

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Oh and the view from both sides is gorgeous of course. I mean just look at it.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I was and still am in love with these trees. This picture is taken around the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. I think they were also at Villa Borghese and possible other places in the city as well, but don’t quote me on this haha. Speaking of the Roman Forum – definitely worth it as well. The entire city is worth it though haha

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

These pictures are unlike the others but I still want to share them because of the stories behind them. The Marilyn Monroe mirror was in the room of some friends, one of those friends was really drunk at some point and started talking to Marilyn. At first we thought he was joking around, but turned out he was quite serious haha. He couldn’t remember it the next day either. When I left for Rome I definitely didn’t think I’d come back with an Oshawott plush, but I did! And you know where I found it? At The Vatican. They had a game store there and as we passed I noticed several Pokemon plushes in their display. I wasn’t sure if it fit in my suitcase, but I REALLY wanted it, so one of my friends, who had brought a really large bag because she didn’t have anything smaller, said she’d put it in hers haha. In the end it really didn’t fit in my suitcase lol

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

#awkwardpicturewithmathteacher lol. He would have been in the picture anyway, so my friend who was taking the picture told him to stand closer and pose. Look at my awkward face.
Anyway, the first picture was taken inside a quadricycle, which we hired twice and was so much fun. Definitely recommend it, especially at Villa Borghese. Not just is it fun, but it’s great way to go around and take in your surroundings. Sometimes at least one of you needs to to be 18 and have a driver’s license though (I say sometimes because the first time the guy was like ‘none of you are 18 and have a license? Ok here you go’ but the second time the other guy asked. Thankfully we had someone who was 18 and had a license in our group that time haha)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I’m honestly shocked about the small amount of pictures I’ve taken at Villa Borghese, but one of my favourite places in the park (besides Galleria Borghese) is the Pincian Hill. The view is amazing, especially at sunset. I mean, look at the St. Peter’s Basilica bathed in the sunlight. It’s gorgeous.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Speaking of the Basilica, be prepared for a really long queue. I don’t remember how long we had to wait outside, but it was long. And cold (we were there in November). It wasn’t without any memorable events though: old classmates that I barely ever talked to fought over my candy with one of my friends and some people in line behind us tried to cut the line – they actually pushed us and at some point a line was formed to make sure they wouldn’t be able to. It was crazy

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I have to admit that the Tiber didn’t make a huge impression on me. In fact, I had kind of forgotten about it. Obviously I know it’s there and that it exists, but it just didn’t make the same impression on me as a lot of other stuff I’ve seen in Rome. Though looking at the picture I took three years ago I am reminded of its beauty. And of course we went to the Trevi fountain. It’s one of those spots you can’t not go to when in Rome. When I was a kid we went to Rome as well (for a day, we went to multiple cities in Rome) and I had thrown a coin into the Trevi fountain. And lo and behold, I came back! So it’s true guys. I read somewhere that if you throw one in the second time, you’ll come back married? So we’ll see since I threw in another one (not that I want to come back married, but when in Rome you know) haha

I have a lot more photos, which made it hard to choose. I’d love to share more, but that would make this post incredibly long and some things are just so much better when you see them for yourself! Like I do have pictures of the Pantheon for example, but they just don’t do it justice. There were also places where you weren’t allowed to take pictures (double check if you’re allowed to; the guards have no chill). I would’ve loved to take pictures at the Sixtine Chapel (which was definitely one of my favourite sights – I loved it so much), but alas. That wasn’t allowed

SOME TIPS

  • If you’re going in November, the weather will be rather strange. It can be warm enough to walk around without a coat, but it can also be freezing and you’ll be glad you brought a scarf and gloves
  • Bring sunglasses! Whether it’s warm or not there’s a high chance the sun will be shining and if you’re like me and can’t stand sunlight (that makes me sound like a vampire woops. I mean I get a headache if the sun is shining really brightly and I’m not wearing my sunglasses
  • Like I said, make sure whether or not you’re allowed to take pictures. You don’t want an angry security guard yelling at you in Italian
  • Speaking of which, don’t stand at the rocks at the Colosseum or you’ll get yelled at too
  • Always get ice cream (unless you don’t like ice cream and you’re lactose intolerant. In that case don’t get ice cream)
  • Eat as much food as you can
  • It might be useful to order tickets for certain sights and museums beforehand
  • LOOK AFTER YOUR STUFF. This is important in every big city, especially when you’re on holiday because you really don’t want to lose your passport, but seriously. Look after your stuff. I remember a classmate telling us that she noticed an old lady zipping her friend’s backpack open. Thankfully she noticed. Also if you have a backpack, keep that in front of you when you’re in busy spots and on the bus/metro
  • If you see a microwave at the restaurant: get out. Get out now. We noticed the microwave after we had already gotten our food, and it was disgusting. My friend’s pizza looked like it moved. Also I got a really small portion of lasagna and I paid like seven euros for it #3yearslaterandstillpissed
  • But don’t worry about the food, because that was my only bad experience. I ate a lot of good food and most of it was reasonably priced (I ate at a restaurant near the Colosseum for ten euros: a pizza, bread and a soda all included in the prize. I really wish I knew the name of the restaurant or where exactly it is, but all I remember is that we had a view of the Colosseum)
  • Get a map. Our teachers had several that they handed out to groups that wanted them and I’m so glad we had one. It really helped finding our way through the city and finding our way back to the hotel in the dark. Honestly I think you should always have a map when you’re in a foreign place, but maybe that’s just the planner inside me haha

I could probably write an entire book about Rome, but I’ll leave it at this. Have you ever been to Rome? Do you love it as much as I do? What is your favourite city you’ve ever been to? Let me know in the comments!

signature

20 thoughts on “One of My Favourite Cities: Rome

  1. AAH YAY I LOVE ROME. I can’t remember it super well since I went on a school trip in primary school (yeah for some reason we had this one totally awesome trip to Rome??? I DO NOT UNDERSTAND). The Trevi fountain was absolutely beautiful and I ate ice cream every day! <3 I really hope that I can return again someday because that was a seriously great trip. I also loved going to Barcelona, where at least I can…vaguely pretend to be practicing my language skills haha.

    • YAAAY. Omg you went to Rome in PRIMARY SCHOOL? We went to some kind of farm 😂 I hope so too, it’s such a wonderful city (and you know, ICE CREAM) Oh I loved Barcelona too! Haha I tried practicing my Spanish, but I felt awkward and forgot it all while I was there 😂 So I admire you :P

      • YES my primary school was so weird, I was extremely lucky! But I think they’ve stopped the trip now because it was too expensive for them haha. (Those emojis are coming out slightly weirdly on my computer. I AM SO SORRY.) However much I love languages, I am still a super awkward bean if I actually try to speak them. And I seem to remember that there was also quite a lot of Catalan in Barcelona too, so. But YAY yeah it;s awesome! <3

      • Yeah you were! That’s an amazing trip. Ooh I feel you, I already have the problem with English lol, let alone other languages. I feel so self-conscious and awkward speaking it, even though I know my English is quite good

  2. I so agree, Roman history is so intriguing! The foreign language I actually took in high school and college was actually Latin, so I’ve always had an interest in visiting Rome. I really hope to be able to visit someday. And I’m so glad you had a lot of fun when you were there three years ago. Thanks so much for the traveling tips at the end! :)

    • Isn’t it? I love history in general, but Roman history has always been one of my favourites. Ooh cool! My secondary school didn’t offer Latin until I was in my third year or something (and only first years could choose it). I hope you’ll get to visit someday! Definitely worth it :)

  3. Oh my gosh ROME. I’ve never been out of the U.S. and I’d LOVE to. And ROME!!!
    All of your pictures are so gorgeous, but I especially like the Pincian Hill ones!
    Good advice, I’ll have to take it. XD
    -Amy

Send an owl

