In Which I Judge My Own Writing Part XIII

It is time to judge the book I wrote when I was ten again! This book is called Spy Academy and the Secret of Ethelbertha Harrison, so as you can tell it takes place at a spy school. In this weekly feature I recap a chapter and provide you with sarcastic commentary.Β 

Part I | Part II | Part III |Β Part IV |Β Part V |Β Part VI |Β Part VII |Β Part VIII |Β Part IXΒ | Part X | Part XIΒ | Part XII


Chapter ten is called ‘Ria’s revenge’, so naturally it’s time to reintroduce Ria. Ria is one of Ricky’s teammates. She wears big glasses and isn’t that nice since she and Johnny, Ricky’s other teammate, didn’t want to hang out with him. And now she wants revenge for something.

Ricky overhears her and Johnny whispering about something: ‘Be in the woods at five’. What could they be planning? The two of them are late for class, and Ricky doesn’t want to enter after them in fear of Heyligers’ wrath. Luckily for him he comes up with a great excuse: ‘They locked me up in the bathroom!’ Heyligers thinks this is awful, so she punishes Ria and Johnny without even listening to their side of the story.

Later Ricky tells the others about what he overheard. He thinks Ria’s going to take revenge on him for putting on a bear costume and pretending to be a bear (this was on their first day of classes). Turns out he’s right, because in the next paragraph Miranda (one of the teachers) is helping Ria into a bear costume, but it turns out someone is listening in… Who could it be?!

Turns out it was Ricky. He now knows about the revenge plot (why is no one wondering why Miranda is in on this because I am). He goes along with it when Johnny asks him to meet in the woods though, but naturally when Johnny yells ‘A BEAR’ he doesn’t fall for it. But then…

”Um, that’s not a costume.” they turn around to find Ria, so the bear in front of them must be real.

Except it’s not because it’s Miranda. Turns out she and her sister Melinda (another sister) had a plan of their own, to scare the entire team. Except not. Because Melinda told Ricky about the plan. And that was this chapter

What a pointless filler chapter.

Have you ever written a filler chapter that adds NOTHING? Not to the plot, subplots, character arcs, character development, relationships etc.? Let me know in the comments!

Ps. Help I’m going back to school tomorrow and it’s not Hogwarts

signature

4 thoughts on “In Which I Judge My Own Writing Part XIII

  1. Oh my goodness yes. Filler chapters everywhere! I cringe reading any writing ten years or older, but even within the pain there’s usually something to salvage.

    I’m certain your owl became lost on the way and surely you received a letter from Hogwarts!

    • Haha yeah I sure loved writing filler chapters! I hope so, I’m still waiting haha. Back when I scheduled that post my timetable said I had Mondays off, but alas it changed and now I’m at school *sigh*

Send an owl

