In Which I Judge My Own Writing Part XVI

It is time to judge the book I wrote when I was ten again! This book is called Spy Academy and the Secret of Ethelbertha Harrison, so as you can tell it takes place at a spy school. In this weekly feature I recap a chapter and provide you with sarcastic commentary. 

Part I | Part II | Part IIIPart IV Part VPart VIPart VIIPart VIIIPart IX | Part X | Part XI | Part XII | Part XIII | Part XIV | Part XV


Ah I remember this chapter. All the first years are going on their ‘first mission’, but um. Most of them aren’t really ‘spy missions’. If any at all. Zoey, Laila and Bryan need to babysit one of the teachers children, but apparently there are criminals trying to kidnap her (though I think they’re just saying that to justify child labour). Patricia, Reane and Tim need to pick up the janitor from the hospital. Once again the argument ‘he could be kidnapped!!’ is used, because he used to be ‘an excellent spy with a lot of enemies’. Yeah okay but why would anyone go after an old man, when there’s nothing to gain #logic.

Oh and Ricky and his teammates are trying to catch one of the teacher’s dogs who had run from home. And basically it’s just another filler chapter, because nothing happens. Literally nothing. Wow that would make a short post. Let’s continue on to chapter 14 then, shall we? This one’s called ‘The Dream’. So I’m guessing Zoey’s going to have the same dream from the prologue. Yep she does. And I’m pretty sure I just copy pasted it from the prologue because it’s exactly the same. Zoey now finally remembers the dream from two years ago and thinks it might be a kind of vision of the past. About Ethelbertha

Because of Zoey’s dream, they now know what happened to Ethelbertha (Sheffield Sr. had locked her up inside the secret room inside the secret room) and where the secret room in the secret room was (damn secret-room-ception): in a wardrobe. But said wardrobe was locked last time they were there, and when they try to open it with a bobby pin that evening, it won’t work. They’ll have to find the key…

And turns out chapter 14 was super short, so that’s it for this week! Next week’s chapter is called ‘the prediction comes true’. Is it too much to add that dum dum dummm gif again here or…

Okay I can’t think up any questions for you guys, so just talk to me about your writing! Do you have any fun anecdotes for me? Let me know in the comments!

signature

7 thoughts on “In Which I Judge My Own Writing Part XVI

  1. But you see, if your character has a dream in the book, and that dream is also shown in the prologue, it’s like foreshadowing! And everyone knows that the most mysterious and exciting way to foreshadow things is in dreams, in prologues. I can’t blame your child-self for going this route. Child-me probably would’ve done the same thing, and been so smug about how mysterious and effective it was. *Crawls into a a hole.* *Dies a little.* =D

Send an owl

