Review Timekeeper: Just Go Read It Trust Me

timekeeper-tour-banner

Genre: YA | Fantasy | Steampunk
Series: Timekeeper #1
Goodreads rating: 4.21
My rating:  ★★★★summary

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

review

Omg guys where to begin? I loved this book so much – definitely one of my favourites this year. The only reason that I gave it four stars is because it felt a little bit predictable at times, but that didn’t stop me from loving it AT ALL.

First of all the worldbuilding is so cool. Victorian London steampunk-style has been done before, but the world is ‘controlled’ by clock towers. That sounds kind of creepy, but they just keep time from running normally. It is a bit confusing at first, but throughout the book it’s explained more and more and I loved the background story of how this society came to be with the Greek Titans. Not just that, these ‘myths’ were seperately told in the story and while at first I thought that would ruin the pace, it didn’t. At least not for me. It was just so unique and I loved it.

Then there’s our protagonist Danny. Not only is his father trapped in a town which means he might never see him again, he’s also been in a horrible accident himself that could have killed him, giving him PTSD. I could relate so much to Danny that I cried. It was so accurately written and I just want to give Tara Sim a hug as a thank you.

Speaking of which, in this Victorian London homosexuality isn’t a crime (though it is frowned upon by a lot of people) and women are fighting gender roles. Bless. Danny’s best friend Cassie is a mechanic (a regular one like in our world who works on cars) and his colleague (and maybe friend in the sequel? I’m digging their possible friendship) Daphne is a clock mechanic which is unheard of especially since she’s also half-Indian.

And of course the romance. Guys the romance is so beautiful. It’s so pure and emotional and cute and did I mention beautiful and healthy and oh my God I love it so much. It’s just?? I have no words?? For the book tour I’ve created a playlist so listen to that below and the cute songs on there will give you a taste of what it’s like. But seriously favourite romance of 2016.

While it took me a while to finish this, it was in no way because of the book it self. I had a concussion for two to three weeks so I couldn’t read and then I got super busy with school, but when I finally got around to reading it I couldn’t put it away. Though at times it felt a bit predictable, there were still twists and turns, lots of action, lovable characters and scenes… Gosh just read it you won’t regret it (I hope). This book deserves all the attention and love. I don’t even know how to put it into words. Just know that I need to get my hands on a physical copy.

PLAYLIST 

Listen on Spotify

“You’re everything. You’re… You’re chaos and order and everything between. Like sunshine kept back by clouds. Like the entire world’s imploded inside you, but all I see are the stars are sewn into your skin. You’re filled with soft, dark music. I hear it all the time. Your music.”

Flaws – Bastille
Fire N Gold – Bea Miller
Fix You – Coldplay
The Scientist – Coldplay
Find My Way Back – Eric Arjes
Bring Me Back To Life – Extreme Music
My Fault – Imagine Dragons
Once In A Lifetime – Landon Austin
Suspension (Acoustic) – Lights
Ordinary Human – OneRepublic
Always – Panic! At The Disco
I Get To Love You – Ruelle
War of Hearts – Ruelle
Wake Me Up – Sam Tsui
I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) – Sleeping At Last
For Him – Troye Sivan
Youth – Troye Sivan
Shiver Shiver – Walk The Moon

And if I got you excited, enter the giveaway to win a finished copy! (U.S. and Canada only) Click here to enter

Have you read this yet? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!

signature

21 thoughts on “Review Timekeeper: Just Go Read It Trust Me

  1. Awesome review, Michelle! I haven’t read many steampunk books, but I love the idea of them. The idea of the world in Timekeeper sounds amazing, and definitely intriguing. I’ll keep this book on my radar. Thank you for the awesome review! :)

      • Right now I’m reading four o.O Magonia which I’m a bit lukewarm on, but I’m going to see it through and write a review (ha accidental rhyme!); The World of Ice and Fire, the history of Westeros based on ASOIAF by GRRM; The Mabinogion Tetrology, Welsh mythology and quite a huge volume, and finally The Ghost of Buxton Manor a poignant but still mostly sweet YA about a young ghost attempting to remember what his life was like. Oh! It has a same sex relationship in it, too, and it’s written by some fellow bloggers. Quite enjoyable.

      • Oooh that’s a lot haha! Though technically according to my Goodreads I’m reading four at the same time as well haha. I liked Magonia when I read it, but I’m not sure how I feel about it now. Kind of lost my enthusiasm. I’ll definitely check out The Ghost of Buxton Manor, sounds like my cup of tea :)

      • Yeaaaaaah, I’m not super enthused about it either. I’m about halfway through, and ever since she got to the ship, I’ve found the characters there super annoying. I’ll have a lot to say about that when I review it hehe.

      • Haha yeah I remember being really annoyed how she quickly adapted to everything and how she fell in love so fast with that ‘bad boy’ (I think he was supposed to be a ‘bad boy’? I don’t remember it that well). I’ll definitely read your review once I have the time :)

      • I’m curious about how every turned out, and I totally did not see him as a “bad boy.” He just seemed to be annoyed with her for the sake of being annoyed with her. I get if the author was trying to keep things secret, but we need a bit more to hold interest. Did you finish it?

      • Ah then I’m probably remembring wrong haha. I did finish it and at the time I thought I enjoyed it, but looking back I noticed quite a few flaws. I should change my review but that would mean having to reread it and I’m not up for that haha

Send an owl

