Why You Should Watch BBC Class

Because I say so

Just kidding! I’ll give you actual reasons don’t worry.

Okay first of, what is Class about? Class is a Doctor Who spin-off, but you don’t have to be familiar with Doctor Who at all in order to watch it. The Doctor does appear in the first episode, but it’s not necessary to know him or his backstory. Short version: it’s about four teenagers and their teacher at Coal Hill Academy where they fight evil aliens. But obviously it’s about a lot more. It’s about these characters and their relationships with each other, dealing with the aftermath of everything they’ve been through.

So why should you watch it?

DIVERSE AND AMAZING CAST

LOOK AT THIS CAST. And spoiler: Charlie (top left) is gay. His boyfriend Mattheusz isn’t in this picture because while he’s important, he’s not a main character. But believe me he’s important and he’s not faced by aliens at all and just in love with Charlie, but that’s not his entire plotline!! He’s there to fight aliens with the others and call Charlie out on his shit because while Charlie is pure he’s also morally grey. Oh and he has relationships with the other characters as well, like I’m digging his friendship with Tanya and I’m crossing my fingers for a relationship with Miss Quill (woman on the right).

The characters are complex and don’t rely on stereotypes. See that girl on the left? She’s 14 and a genius. That girl next to her? Seems sweet right? She is, but she’ll also kick your ass. That boy next to her? Your typical jock, except not. He openly cries more then once and battles PTSD (the way his PTSD is written fbjsdhg). And there’s so much to Miss Quill that we don’t know about yet, but she’s hilarious, sarcastic and such a savage. And their acting is so good.

THE RELATIONSHIPS

The romantic relationships are healthy, built on communication and consent (can I get a hell yeah). Do they have their problems? Of course they do. Does that make the relationships boring? No. Take note other writers. Then their is the pure sibling-like relationship between Tanya and Ram. They can open up to each other, talk about everything, help each other, protect each other… It’s so pure guys. All the friendships on the show are great. Now I just need someone to give Miss Quill a hug.

IT’S INTENSE

So so so intense oh my God. You won’t get bored. The aliens are scary and intriguing and the way they affect the characters and further their arcs, relationships and the overal plot efbjsg.

THE HUMOUR

While it gets scary and intense (and bloody and kinda grose so if that’s really not your thing you might want to stay away) there are a lot of light moments and great jokes. Seriously I’ve laughed out loud so many times already.

IT’S BEAUTIFUL

The way the characters are written guys. They’re real and complex, and that within the space of only a few episodes (the fifth one came out today; don’t spoil me I haven’t watched yet). I’m just in awe how well-written these characters already are.

IT’S WRITTEN BY PATRICK NESS

So if you love his books, then I’m sure you’ll love this show.

IT’S JUST SO GOOD GUYS I CAN’T EVEN PUT IT INTO WORDS. JUST WATCH IT PLEASE

But seriously especially the first two episodes are pretty gross and bloody, so if that’s a trigger for you or just not your thing you might (sadly) have to stay away. Also warning: don’t get attached to anyone hahahaha *sobbing*

Are you watching Class?! IF NOT WHY NOT GO WATCH IT NOW AND SUPPORT IT SO WE CAN GET A SECOND SEASON PLEASE

signature

19 thoughts on “Why You Should Watch BBC Class

  1. Oh my god I LOVE CLASS!! The characters are amazing, I think my favourite is April but the others are so awesome too!! I need more episodes! And I agree on the fact that someone needs to give Miss Quill a hug :)

  2. OMG I WAS JUST GOING TO WRITE A POST LIKE THIS haha, we’re obviously psychic. ;) Asdfjkl yes to the complex characters, that’s something I ADORE about Class. (Characters are usually my favourite part of things, so that’s good.) I SERIOUSLY HOPE WE GET A SECOND SEASON AAAH

    • WOAH. We obviously are ;) Saaaaame. While plot does have to make sense and be good, if the characters are good I’m good (I said good way too often in that sentence). YES FINGERS CROSSED

  3. YES! I am so, so, so in love with this show, I cannot wait for a new episode each week. Sometimes I feel like they are moving a little too fast, but then even the characters take note of it and it diffuses everything and makes sense again. The stakes are so ridiculously high and it feels a lot more adult than Doctor Who to be honest, even if the cast is younger.
    I already ordered all the companion books and fingers crossed, they will be here next week.

  4. […] I finally picked up one of the BBC Class books that have been on my shelf for months now. I really enjoyed The Stone House, so I’m excited to read the other two. Speaking of BBC Class, it started airing in America yesterday on BBC America, so please support it!! It’s an amazing show that needs a second season (and so do I). If you need some convincing, read this post. […]

Send an owl

