We Awaken: Cute, Dreams, Ballet and Asexual Rep

Genre: YA | Contemporary | Fantasy
Goodreads rating: 3.36
My rating:  3.5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

summary

Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an otherworldly girl named Ashlinn, who bears a message from Victoria’s comatose brother. Ashlinn is tasked with conjuring pleasant dreams for humans, and through the course of their nightly meetings in Victoria’s mind, the two become close. Ashlinn also helps Victoria understand asexuality and realize that she, too, is asexual.

But then Victoria needs Ashlinn’s aid outside the realm of dreams, and Ashlinn assumes human form to help Victoria make it to her dance audition. They take the opportunity to explore New York City, their feelings for each other, and the nature of their shared asexuality. But like any dream, it’s too good to last. Ashlinn must shrug off her human guise and resume her duties creating pleasant nighttime visions—or all of humanity will pay the price.

review

DISCLAIMER: I was given a copy of the book by the author. This doesn’t affect my review

One word to describe We Awaken is: cute. When I finished it I was filled with warm, fuzzy feelings. I loved the relationship between Victoria and Ashlinn. They had their problems, misunderstandings and fights, but they talked it out and it was a healthy relationship. They made sure that the other was comfortable and happy. They loved each other so much. It was so frickin pure and made me so happy. And the fact that they were both asexual and that the book explored this? Yes please? I’m not an expert on asexuality, but I found it very relatable and from what I’ve read about asexuality it felt like good representation. It also fought stereotypes head one (like the plant one)

The beginning was a bit slow, but once the pace picked up I couldn’t stop reading. I felt like the writing became better throughout the book as well (not that it was bad in the beginning or anything). I wasn’t sure where the plot was going, thus why I gave it 3.5 stars and not higher. I definitely love the book though, and I think everyone should read it.

The way Victoria dealt with her grief was also very relatable and it was definitely an emotional book at times, even though a lot of it was very fluffy and cute too.

Oh and the fact that Ashlinn was basically the sandman was really cool too, though I wish that had been explored a bit more.

Moral of this review: READ IT.

Have you read We Awaken yet? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!

signature

17 thoughts on “We Awaken: Cute, Dreams, Ballet and Asexual Rep

  1. I am definitely intrigued! Asexual girl sandman is definitely something I can get behind. I’m just amazed by the vast array of books that have been coming out lately!

  2. Yep, you had me at “ace rep.” I could use a homoromantic ace book right about now. Though I’m really disappointed to hear that its plot was lacking. Bah. One day I’ll have my homoromantic ace books AND compellingly written plots simultaneously, and it’ll be great. =)

    • Haha definitely read it :D the plot wasn’t too bad, it just could’ve been handled better. And hey that was just my opinion, you may feel different :P
      Haha that is the dream!

  3. […] I may have only given this book 3.5 stars, but I loved it a lot. It’s still on my mind even now after having finished it weeks ago. I just love the fact that both the protagonist and her love interest are ace and how that’s explored and how beautiful their relationship is. Read my review here. […]

  4. […] While I didn’t give this book a five-star rating, it’s been on my mind ever since I finished it. It was just so cute and the way it represented asexuality was really beautiful. I would love to hear more about how Calista wrote We Awaken and her future writing plans. Plus I’ve read some of her blogposts and she seems like such a fun person. […]

Send an owl

