Best Books of 2016

This year I read 147 books. That sounds like a lot, but a lot of those books are manga and comic books. Not that I don’t count those, but those are really quick reads (at least for me), otherwise I never would’ve been able to read this much haha. But what were my favourites this year? In no order, except for the first one:

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Hands down my favourite book of the year. I loved it to pieces and I can’t wait for the sequel. I loved the characters, the worldbuilding, the writing, the relationships (including the romance of course), the mystery… Just everything. Read my review and listen to my playlist here.

The Ask and the Answer/Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

If I had to choose which one of these two is better, I’d probably go with The Ask and the Answer. Don’t ask me for any arguments, because I read these two at the start of the year and until I went through Goodreads I didn’t even remember that I read them this year. It feels like ages ago.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

img_0014

Same with Simon. Did I seriously read this only this year?? This book was so cute and Simon is so relatable. It didn’t blow me away, but I might reread it next year and we’ll see. Cinder didn’t blow me away at first either and now it’s one of my favourite books. Read my review here.

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

starsabove

This reminds me that I need to get my hands on Heartless. Also Wires and Nerves is almost out!! But I should talk about this book instead. If you’re a fan of The Lunar Chronicles and haven’t read this one yet, I really recommend it. I felt like I got to know the characters a little bit better (even though I think the main books already do a superb job at that) and it was just a lot of fun, especially the last story. Read my review here.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This book was just so much fun and hilarious. I doubt there will ever be a year where there won’t be a Riordan book on my best of list, unless he didn’t publish anything. I already loved Apollo, but Uncle Rick gave him character development and actually made him likeable (I mean, I loved him before but if I were to know him in real life I’d despise him haha). Read my review here.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

thedreamthieves

I finally read the entire series this year and I really get what the hype is all about! I don’t know which book would be my favourite and I haven’t reviewed any of them either woops.

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

I have this edition but I'm too lazy to take a picture of it woops

I have this edition but I’m too lazy to take a picture of it woops

This one was definitely a surprise! I started reading it and was quite bored, but at some point the pace picked up and I loved it so much. It was so sweet yet heartbreaking. It also felt very real and I loved seeing Anne grow up. I really need to read the rest of the series.

One by Sarah Crossan 

one

I’ve been meaning to review this one but I haven’t gotten to it yet. This one is written entirely through poems and while I didn’t know what to expect at first, it worked so well. It made me feel so much closer to the protagonists and so much more emotional.

We Awaken by Calista Lynne

I may have only given this book 3.5 stars, but I loved it a lot. It’s still on my mind even now after having finished it weeks ago. I just love the fact that both the protagonist and her love interest are ace and how that’s explored and how beautiful their relationship is. Read my review here.

Orange

I meant to review this manga this Summer when I read it, but I never got to it. I read it in one sitting (okay there aren’t that many chapters but still) and I can’t even explain why I loved it so much. It just hit me real hard and I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Ms. Marvel

I don’t care whether you like superheroes or not okay? Read Ms. Marvel. Okay words are not working with me. I just don’t know where to start. Okay hopefully I’ll do better once I try to properly review this which I am planning on doing. JUST READ IT.

Lumberjanes

READ LUMBERJANES TOO (okay you should read everything on this list but). It has a super diverse cast (two!! trans characters!!!!), it’s all about friendship (though there’s an adorable same-sex relationship too), it’s very strange and magical, it’s hilarious, the characters are very lovable and just READ IT.

What are the best books YOU read this year? Let me know in the comments!

signature

16 thoughts on “Best Books of 2016

  1. I still really need to read Simon. Everyone always tells me how amazing it is, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. :/ Anne of Green Gables was my favorite classic when I was younger! I had that same beautiful cover, but then I lent it to a friend and never got it back. :'( The Raven Cycle is amazing! I started that series this year and loved it!
    Happy New Years, Michelle! Best wishes in 2017! <3

  2. WHY DID I MISS THIS??? I DO NOT KNOW?? Anyway aah it’s so interesting to hear your top reads — some of them are ones I’ve already read like Chaos Walking, Simon Vs, and One (for our school Carnegie medal book club thing) and I’m really glad you liked them too. ALSO THE RAVEN CYCLEEEE. And Lumberjanes! i dont’ always get what’s going on bu I love it anyway. I really enjoyed the first volume of Ms Marvel, but the library only ever has the 3rd one and not the second so I think I need to reserve it pronto. *nods*
    I definitely want to check out the ones I didn’t know here; in particular We Awaken sounds really interesting!

    • I DON’T KNOW EITHER. I miss a lot of blogposts so don’t worry haha. Yay I’m glad you like those too :D Haha I know what you mean with Lumberjanes but it’s so cute and fun and just sdbfhdfg. I hope you’ll be able to continue Ms. Marvel soon :D
      Yes We Awaken is a great read! I know I only gave it 3.5 stars but I love it more and more every day haha (I might even increase my rating BECAUSE MY FEELS)

      • I used to check my Reader every day *cries* (I think I miss the old Reader though, tbh.) YAY LUMBERJANES and hopefully!
        Oh I get what you mean, sometimes I don’t think I’ve adored a book but I also…think about it a lot? *shrugs*

      • Same here *cries with you* (yep me too. I hadn’t been on in a while and all of a sudden it’s completely different).
        Yes exactly! Glad I’m not the only one haha

  3. Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilgoy is AMAZING. Also anything by Maggie “Her Badassness” Stiefvater and Anne of Green Gables! I’ve read all eight books in the Anne of Green Gables series and loved them all to bits. I’d say that even if you didn’t read quite as much as you wanted, you still had a pretty good year. ;)

    • It IS! It blew me away. I’m glad to hear that the rest of the Anne of Green Gables series is good too :) Haha yeah true! Mostly I just wanted to read more books instead of manga and comics, but I still did good :)

  4. I have Timekeeper on my list, too, and I’m currently reading The Raven Boys. I love it so far. Maggie Stiefvater manages to write about rich, prep school boys and make them not annoyingly pretentious. I also like how each chapter flips between Blue and Gansey’s point of view.

    I added We Awaken almost based on that gorgeous cover alone ♥

Send an owl

