Goals for 2017 (Which I’ll Probably Fail At *cue maniacal laughter*)

Welp look at that negativity. I like to see it as realism though. Looking at the goals I set for myself in 2015 and 2016 and how many I failed at… Oh well, I still think it’s fun to set myself goals and it means I can make lists!!

As I’ve said in my December wrap upΒ I’m no longer setting any reading goals for myself except for the Goodreads one (I’m once again aiming for 100 books), because at some point I forget about them anyway and it put too much pressure on me. Of course there’s a high chance that somewhere during the year I change my mind when I find a fun challenge to join haha.

So what goalsΒ amΒ I setting for myself?

WritingΒ 

  • Like last year, I’m setting up the goal of:Β just writeΒ 
  • Work on my grandfather’s biography
  • Work on all my outlines
  • Finish at least one of my WIPs
  • Maybe start the Young Writers Chat again

Blogging

  • Change my layout – I don’t think I’ll change my theme and I’m happy with my graphics, but I want my blog to be more colourful
  • Try to blog regularly again
  • Catch up on reviews
  • Catch up on tags
  • Become the Scheduling Queenβ„’ I used to be again
  • Catch up on blogposts I need to read
  • Follow more blogs
  • Become more active in the blogging community again

I’ll probably come up with more goals throughout the year (though I hope not since I might not even complete these haha). So uh wish me luck?

What are your goals for this year? Are you setting yourself any reading goals? Let me know in the comments!

signature

30 thoughts on “Goals for 2017 (Which I’ll Probably Fail At *cue maniacal laughter*)

    • haha well I read a lot of comics last year and I’m planning to again this year (I think I’ve read 42 books so far but only 2 of them are books, all the others are comics haha) so that’s how I’m accomplishing that lol. I definitely understand the struggle!

  1. Good luck with your goals! I would say that I also want to try and blog more (and I really do) but I don’t want to be really disappointed when I get too busy and can’t!

      • Yeah it does! I am realising that now as it has been well over a month since my last post and I just don’t see when I am going to be able to post again! Although at the same time I am taking it as a little blog detox and I want to really love it again, and I haven’t been lately!

      • Yes! It has been nice! I am technically still on the “detox” but I do come on every once in a while to check comments and such, but it has been nice not having to stress about putting up a blog post on top of everything else!

  2. I LOVE the ‘just write’ goal, to be honest. With my writing this year, I haven’t exactly set out any strict “goals”, but I have mapped out my year in writing…kind of. I’m not sure I’ll stick to it, but I have so much I want to accomplish that I hope I do. Not putting pressure on myself, though — that’ll just make everything worse and I definitely won’t be able to complete them then. Good luck with all your goals (and Happy New Year!)

  3. I do the same haha, I kind of enjoy setting goals even if I know I’ll never manage to accomplish most of them. I love the “just write” thing though, it’s one of my goals as well, no pressure, just write more and more! Also, I hope you’ll manage to blog more because I kind of miss your posts, but life and school unfortunately comes first at times :) Sending you hugs! <3

    • Haha it’s just fun isn’t it? Let’s hope we’ll both manage to just write! I hope so too! I really miss blogging, reading everyone’s posts and talking to you guys! Sending you hugs back Marie <3

  4. ‘Write more’ is basically the ultimate goal, to be honest! My reading goal is to read 70 books this year and stop having phases when I’m “bored to pick up a book” ahah. Best wishes for the new year by the way! x

    • Aaah I’m so behind on comments that it feels weird to say ‘happy new year to you too’ by now haha. But of course I still wish you a happy new year ;) Thank you, I hope you will too!

  5. Very excited that you’re going to be blogging more. I like the goals you’ve set out and I’m sure you’ll have no trouble achieving them. Don’t worry if you don’t it’s all about trying and finding a balance that works well – if you don’t get to resolutions you made this year, or last, then there is always next year to re-group. X

  6. Goals are good. I like goals. I like to wave at them as they pass by :p In all honestly, even if I don’t accomplish all of the goals I set, I accomplish far more than if I didn’t set goals.

    Keeping up with blogs is like another job! I’m in the process of doing such now, as I’m about a week behind, and they just keep piling up. I missed a few days of checking my subs, and now I’m mired and trying to dig out. I find the more bloggers I follow and the more blogs I like/comment on, the more people I (obviously) meet and the more awesome blogs I find :)

Send an owl

