Review One: Why Don’t You Just Rip My Heart Out Won’t Ya

one

Genre: YA | Contemporary |
Goodreads rating: 4.17
My rating:  ★★★★★

 

 

 

 

 

 

summary

Tippi and Grace share everything—clothes, friends . . . even their body. Writing in free verse, Sarah Crossan tells the sensitive and moving story of conjoined twin sisters, which will find fans in readers of Gayle Forman, Jodi Picoult, and Jandy Nelson.

Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it’s normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms around each other for balance. To fall asleep listening to the other breathing. To share. And to keep some things private. The two sixteen-year-old girls have two heads, two hearts, and each has two arms, but at the belly, they join. And they are happy, never wanting to risk the dangerous separation surgery.

But the girls’ body is beginning to fight against them. And soon they will have to face the impossible choice they have avoided for their entire lives (Goodreads).

review

This book you guys. This book. I should’ve reviewed this sooner, because my memory is getting fuzzy, but I really need to review this anyway because I loved it and it deserves more attention.

One is written in poems. Going in I had no idea what to expect, but damn was this a good move. It worked really well with the story, made me feel like I knew the characters better and made it so much more emotional (which it already was). The story itself was beautiful, but I don’t know if it would’ve made the same impact if it hadn’t been written in verse.

Now, since my memory is a bit fuzzy and because I love making them, I’ll be summing up why I loved this book in a list

  • It’s about sisters!!
  • The rest of the family plays a huge part as well, and so do their new friends, but initially it’s still about the relationship between Grace and Tippi
  • Though they’re still clearly individuals
  • But the bond between them is so beautiful
  • I didn’t know much about siamese twins before reading this book, but it really sounds like the author did a lot of research and I think a lot of people will understand (and treat) siamese twins better by reading this book
  • The cute friendships that are formed during the book
  • The way it was written made me feel more involved in the twins’ life
  • Slightly predictable, but it doesn’t matter because it’s just so beautifully written and it’s so easy to get into
  • You just can’t stop reading

It’s just very beautiful and you should read it okay

I’m very sorry for that not so very helpful review, but I tried. I tried to get you all to read this beautiful book if you haven’t yet. I hope I convinced you all.

Have you read this yet? What did you think? Or do you know another book that is written in verse that you’d recommend? Let me know in the comments!

signature

9 thoughts on “Review One: Why Don’t You Just Rip My Heart Out Won’t Ya

  1. I’m so glad to hear you loved this book so much. I haven’t read it, but heard about it before and it sounded intense and beautiful and SISTERS. I need to read it soon <3

Send an owl

