Rock and Riot – It’s Like Grease but Queer

I’m back to talk about more comics! Before I talked about Shoot Around and Lumberjanes, today it’s Rock and Riot’s turn (and believe me there are a lot more coming).

So what is Rock and Riot about? Taken from the comic’s tumblr:

Rock and Riot follows the tales of opposing teenage gangs in the 1950s with an LGBTQ theme! Will the teams set aside their differences to fight for what they have in common?

Doesn’t that sound great?! If that hasn’t convinced you yet, here are some reasons to read it:

‘LGBTQ THEME’ IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION

No one’s straight?? There are so many different gender identities and sexual orientations in this comic it’s amazing! There are lesbians, bisexuals, panromantics, pansexuals, demisexuals, asexuals, trans characters, an agender character, aromantics, a genderfluid character, a demiboy, a bigender… And I think I haven’t even mentioned all of them at this point. IT’S GREAT.

NOT JUST LGBTQ+ DIVERSITYΒ 

Not everyone is white yay! And so many different body types!! That no one gets shamed for!!

CHARACTERS ARE UNIQUE AND RELATABLE AND JUST GREAT

Sometimes I hate myself for adding titles because honestly what can I add to that. THEY’RE JUST GREAT OKAY. They’re all so cute and funny and relatable sfnsghd I love them. Also they’re so much more than their gender identity and/or sexual orientation, though they are topics that are dealt with

THEY ARE IN GANGS

Which is so much fun! Like not the killing kind of gangs but the ‘I am cooler than thou’ kind of gang with amazing friendships. There’s a girl gang (with a trans girl in it!), a boy gang and an entire gang of teens who don’t stick to the gender binary and they’re definitely the coolest gang.

SUPER CUTE RELATIONSHIPS THAT WILL BE THE DEATH OF YOU

I’m not joking you will die

BEST COMING OUTS EVER

I don’t want to spoil anything, but… IT WAS GREAT. I need to see more of these

CUTE ART STYLE

Just look at it! It’s so cute and colourful

IT TAKES PLACE IN THE FIFTIES

Honestly I love the fifties but… Not good times. So it’s great to see a story take place in the fifties and be so diverse and positive (though there are obstacles as well of course, especially a big one going on right now but it looks like the characters will fight it yay!)

It’s just super fun and cute and relatable and so diverse!!! It’s great trust me. I already linked to the tumblr where you can read it, but I’ll do it again. So if you want to read this amazing comic (YAY) click here.

Are you reading Rock and Riot? What do you think? Are you reading any similar comics that you’d recommend to me? Let me know in the comments (fun fact I wrote comics instead of comments at first woops)!

20 thoughts on “Rock and Riot – It’s Like Grease but Queer

  1. OMG YAY I didn’t know you read Rock and Riot!?!? I LOVE IT IT’S SO WONDERFUL AND CUTE AND DIVERSE ASDFGHJKL; Honestly, I really love how so many webcomics feature diverse casts in a completely cool and not-forced way? I don’t know if it’s because essentially anyone can put them up, so creators are pretty much free to do what they want, but it produces so many wonderful stories and I LOVE IT. *screams* I LOVE ALL THESE KIDS BYE

    • YES SO MANY WEBCOMICS ARE SO WONDERFULLY DIVERSE IT’S AMAZING GIVE ME ALL THE WEBCOMICS *grabby hands* Oh yeah that could be why? There’s no fear of not getting published. You can just publish it on tumblr for example and Webtoon has no problem with diverse comics, as it has a lot. BUT YES THESE KIDS ARE MY BABIES AND I SHALL PROTECT THEM LET THEM HAVE THE PROM OF THEIR DREAMS

  2. I mean I was sold from the title of this post but I just read up to where it currently is and DAMMIT I WANT MORE IT’S SO CUTE!!!! I keep smiling at all the adorable bits omg my loves

    Also!!!! Another gay tumblr comic thing that’s really cool! Starward Lovers (@starwardlovers)!! It’s so cute and SUPERHEROES AND THEY’RE ALL GAY GIRLS IT’S BEAUTIFUL

    • I KNOW RIGHT IT’S SO ADORABLE AND CUTE THEY’RE ALL SO PRECIOUS AND I JUST WANT THEM TO BE HAPPY (I mean they are but PROM. LET THEM HAVE AN AMAZING PROM) Omg that?? sounds amazing??? I NEED TO READ THAT GOODBYE PRODUCTIVITY HELLO GAY COMIC

  3. OMG THIS LOOKS AMAZING. I have only recently started reading comics online and I’m so excited I have because so many of them are diverse. I have promptly bookmarked this one because it just looks so good. And adorable! And also, the art is really nice (I am an art snob when it comes to comics and manga).

    I’m not really reading anything like this at the moment, but would recommend the graphic novel Drama. It’s only one book, and it’s really cute. The main character is white and cishet, but the supporting characters are pretty much all diverse, and it’s just very cute!

    • Yes webcomics are SO diverse it’s amazing! Haha I understand – I always hesitate to pick something up if the art doesn’t appeal to me. But yes this art style is really nice and cute!
      Oh I’ll definitely check that out! Thanks for the rec :)

  4. You sold me on this when you said it’s like Grease, but queer. So. Much. Yes. Grease had some seriously consent problems as shown in that one song…Summer Days? I think it’s called, but this sounds AMAZING. I not only love LQBTQ narratives, but the fact that there are different body types that aren’t shamed makes me so happy. One of my favorite shows is Bob’s Burgers, and I was seriously shocked at how sex and gender positive that show becomes and how one of the kids, Gene, is 100% portrayed as gender fluid. Additionally, he’s fat and he’s not shamed for any of these traits! I can’t wait to read R&R. I need to figure out how I’m going to fit comics into my rotation *ponders*

    • Yes I love Grease, but it has serious problems (like I’ll always be mad about the fact that both Sandy and Danny change to please each other but Danny only puts on a varsity jacket and immediately takes it off when he sees Sandy. And Sandy never changes back to her own self. Girl please don’t change for a man)
      But yes Rock and Riot is AMAZING. It’s not exactly like Grease, I just got the Grease vibes because it takes place during the same time and has gangs as well (I love the Pink Ladies, but these gangs are so much better).
      Omg I had no idea Bob’s Burgers was like that?? I thought it was one of those offensive adult cartoons. I’m definitely going to check it out now!

      • Yuuuup all of that. I’ve only seen parts of Grease, but I know what it’s about. The message is really bad for young people who are unsure of themselves and want to impress someone they like. Changing for someone is never a good option.

        Omg yes! Bob’s Burgers is fantastic with that kind of stuff. The first season is a *little* dicey with it, but once it finds its footing, it’s so fantastic. I especially love Gene’s character, because he’s gender fluid, often refers to himself as Linda’s daughter, says he was “born to be a mother” when they have a school project involving taking care of flour sacks, and he dressed up as Queen Latifah for Halloween, and not only did people not question why a boy would want to do this, but he was complimented on his costume.

        I was iffy on it at first because it did have a time slot in between The Simpsons and Family Guy, and I was thrown off because the humor on BB is much different from those shows, but it’s well worth checking out.

Send an owl

