The Weekly Hufflepuff #53 | I Talk About Periods So… Sorry Not Sorry

THE NETHERLANDS WON THE EUFA WOMEN’S CHAMPIONSHIP

At all the sexist men who said women can’t play football, they wouldn’t even be able to beat amateurs etc etc… EXCUSE ME WERE WAS OUR NATIONAL MEN TEAM LAST YEAR OH YEAH NOT EVEN QUALIFIED

I was really tired and not feeling well this week, so most of the time I didn’t feel like reading. Until yesterday, when I suddenly made a lot of progress in Heroine Complex. I’ve read a lot today too, and maybe I’ll finish it tonight. Depends on whether I’d rather read or blog. While I don’t want to get too far into it until I’ve finished it, I’m really enjoying it!

In other reading news, I’ve been clearing my Goodreads to read shelf. There are quite a few books I have no longer any interest in, but also books that I have no idea why I added them in the first place? I don’t see past, present or future Michelle interested in these? I am confused, but also like a weight lifted off my shoulder with all those books gone *she says as she adds 10000 more books*

As I already mentioned, I was tired and not feeling so well. First I ran out of my hay fever medicine during the weekend, meaning I had to order them on Monday and didn’t have them until Tuesday. Cue not being able to breathe while walking even a few steps outside. Which really ruined my trip to Stedelijk Museum with my mom. Though the exhibition we went to (it was the last week and neither of us had seen it yet) was… really disappointing? Not our thing at all. I love photography, but I guess Rineke Dijkstra is not for me *shrugs*

I also had the brilliant idea to continue taking my birth control pill three months in a row, thus skipping two periods because I really wasn’t feeling it and now my body is punishing me. I’d say don’t be like me but I know people who do this all the time?? A friend of mine just continues to take the pill for six months, gets her period and then continues to take it for another six months. HOW. I AM IN PAIN. MY BODY IS CONFUSED

So basically I haven’t been doing much rip. BUT I’M SEEING A FRIEND TOMORROW SO I’M EXCITED

I’m also hoping to actually go out more this week but who am I kidding I’m not even on my period yet and I’m already suffering

πŸ’›Β I talked about Zanele Muholi, a photographer and visual activist from South Africa who photographs the LGBTQI community in South Africa
πŸ’›Β I wrapped up July
πŸ’›Β I shared some snippets in which one of my characters teaches you how to flirt and another one is a blue cowΒ 
πŸ’›Β I reviewed The Upside of Unrequited which I’m honestly falling more and more in love with?? I might change my 4 star rating to a 5 star rating? As much as I loved it once I had finished it, I still didn’t love itΒ that much but,, now?? Lads I think I’m going to change it

πŸ’›Β Savannah talks about what makes a good book blog and shares some of her favourites
πŸ’›Β Alice has tips and a tutorial for using Edelweiss Plus
πŸ’›Β Inge teaches you how to fold your book into a heart or in ‘home’
πŸ’›Β It’s Angel’s fifth (fifth!!) blogoversary and she looks back on these past few years
πŸ’›Β Shannon shares her weird (but wonderful) bookish habits
πŸ’›Β Mia talks about why unhauling 30 books was the best decision she ever made
πŸ’›Β CW reviews Want by Cindy Pon so let her convince you to read it because it sounds really good and important
πŸ’›Β Em shares some LGBTQ+ music that she loves
πŸ’›Β And talks about all the art she saw in Bristol
πŸ’›Β Kira isn’t only celebrating her blogoversary, she’s also celebrating 100 followers so go increase that number because she deserves it
πŸ’›Β Hannah wonders if using good grammar is worth it
πŸ’›Β Ilsa interviewed Cait which was of course a really fun and hilarious interview because it’s CaitΒ 
πŸ’›Β Holly wrote a discussion post on the phrase ”well, at least you’re reading something”
πŸ’›Β Mikaela shares 10 of her most secretive bookish confessions
πŸ’›Β May celebrated her 6-month blogoversary (HOW HAS SHE BEEN BLOGGING FOR ONLY 6 MONTHS) and answered some questionsΒ 
πŸ’›Β And she shared 9 reasons why we bookworms shouldn’t be trusted which is a genius way for non-bookworms to leave us alone so we can read all our books in peace and quietΒ 

And that’s a wrap! Any great posts I missed this week? What have you been reading? Have you cleared your Goodreads tbr shelf and thought ‘…why’? Let me know in the comments!

39 thoughts on “The Weekly Hufflepuff #53 | I Talk About Periods So… Sorry Not Sorry

  1. Now that I’ve returned to blogging, I realize how much I’ve missed reading your weekly/monthly wrap ups! So much fun!
    Thank you for the shoutout πŸ’™

  2. Aww no sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well last week ❀ (periods and hay fever can go away, they suck). But I hope you enjoy next week a bit more! I went into Waterstones the other day, and they had buy one get one free, I was so tempted to buy the upside of unrequited and the hate u give, but I didn’t have my wallet on me πŸ˜‚ I hope I can get them soon though, because this summer I’ve been reading books for French and it’s been a long time since I read a book I actually wanted to read, and not just one I had to read for school.

    • Thank you Em! ❀️ (yes they do what is even the point) I did enjoy this week more, though I’m really unlucky cause I caught a cold πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­ Ahhh no that’s such a shame! Hopefully you’ll be able to get to them soon. They’re amazing. They’re definitely great books to read for pleasure after only reading books for school 😊

  3. I hope your period troubles go away soon! (Also, props to you for talking about it on your blog, I think that’s awesome and it’s something that should be more openly talked about if people are comfortable sharing because so many people go through it.)
    Thanks so much for the shout out! <3

    • Thank you! Yeah I used to avoid the topic or mention it very vaguely, but this time I was like ‘screw it’ Menstruation is a very common thing and shouldn’t be a taboo topic
      You’re welcome! <3

  4. Wait…people are taking their birth control for six months straight?! Holy mother!!! That sounds crazy to me!!! I haven’t heard of that. I also can’t take birth control because it makes me a hormonal psychopath! I hope you get to feeling better! ❀️❀️

    • Yeah I know!! I don’t know how they do that. Ahh no! I’ve heard lots of stories about birth control doing that to people. I don’t know if I’d be better off without it, but I bleed so much that I really need to be on it. I almost had anemia so the doctor advised it. Thank you! ❀️

  5. AHAHAHAHA that title. To be completely honest, periods need to be talked about more often. (Wow that sounds weird. πŸ˜‚)

    Aww, I hope you feel better soon, Michelle! ❀ And GOOD JOB of taking off those books on your TBR! Slowly making your life easier, eh? (Okay what even was that I’m sorry it’s night and I’m tired.) And thank you for linking my posts! πŸ’•

    • They do! I used to avoid the topic on my blog or just vaguely mention it, but I was sick of it. Periods are very common and so many of us suffer from it.

      Thank you ❀️ Hahaha I kind of pictured you as a cowboy or something with a straw in your mouth πŸ˜‚ But yeah it does make life easier! Until I add a million new books to it, but oh well *shrugs*
      You’re welcome! ❀️

  6. Thank you so much for including me in your wrap-up! I need to check out The Upside of Unrequited now!! I hope you’ll feel better soon, I never had any problems taking my strips for 2 or 3 months (when I went on vacation it always seems like a good idea) but I guess everybody (and every body haha) is different…

    • You’re welcome! Ohh you definitely should. It’s a great read :) Thank you! Ohh you’re lucky! I wish I could skip my periods for that long without my body punishing me haha. At least I learned from it :P

  7. hey there! congrats to your team, austria made it to semi-finals, so I’m equally happy, especially in comparison to our male team ;)
    re:period: skipping periods with birth control never worked for me either, it came anyway. meh.
    hope you’re better now!

    • Thank you! :) Ohhh that’s a great achievement! Congrats to you too :)
      Ahhh no! That sucks. Thanks! I do feel better. I’ve gotten my period, which sucks but at least I know it will be over soon :)

  8. Aww thanks for linking to my interview!! Ilsa is SO LOVELY. <3 And noooo to the period pain, that totally sucks. 😭😭 But YAY to clearing out your goodreads shelf!! I need to do that but honestly it's nearly too much bother? I'm so lazy. πŸ˜‚ I'll just add 9389 more books and regret everything later. SOLID LIFE PLAN.

    • I loved reading it! :) Yeppp periods suck and are pointless. Hahaha I was too lazy to do it a long time to, but suddenly I got the urge to do it? Hopefully that urge will hit you soon too πŸ˜‚ Sounds like a plan!

    • Thank you! Yep they do. I know me too! I have friends who don’t feel a thing?? How?? Sometimes I mention a symptom and add ‘you know’ ‘no I don’t know’. I want to be happy for them but I also want to cry because unfair πŸ˜‚
      Ohh you should! It feels really good :)

  9. Ugh, periods are the worst at times, I hope you’re feeling a little bit better now? Sending you tons of love <3
    And yay for clearing your Goodreads shelves, this is something I should do as well someday – I bet I have tons of books there I have nooo interest in reading anymore ahah :)

    • Yeah I am! Though I did catch a cold rip πŸ˜‚ Thank you Marie ❀️
      Haha it feels so good to do it! I know I’ll be adding tons more anyway, but it did make my tbr feel a little bit more manageable :P I’m curious how many books you’ll get rid off 😊

Send an owl

