Forgive Me Books for I Have Sinned | The Reader Confession Tag

Thank you Holly for tagging me! It’s time for me to confess some sins, but it would be a real sin if you didn’t check out Holly’s blog, so what are you waiting for?

Let’s confess some sins

Guys I was so thrilled when I found this?? This meme + a pug?? πŸ™πŸ»

Have you ever damaged a book?

Haven’t we all? I know a lot of us like to pretend we’re saints and would NEVER hurt a book, but… guys we’re only human (well as far as I’m aware, maybe some of you guys aren’t). It can happen. Sometimes your book gets damaged in your bag, sometimes you drop a book, sometimes you spill a drink or crumbs while reading – and it’s okay. I get wanting to keep your books pretty (believe me damaging a book can ruin my day) but your book will forgive you (unless maybe if we’re talking about The Monster Book of Monsters, then maybe not)

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

No, but I did lose a library book as a kid. I kid you not someone stole it from my grandmother’s bag. I remember being really upset, even though it wasn’t my fault at all.

How long does it take you to read a book?

This depends on so many factors. Like the amount of time I have to read and the book itself (the length, whether I’m enjoying it or not etc). So… It can take me a day or it can take me months haha

Books that you haven’t finished?

Oh boy I try to finish books, I really do. But if I’m not enjoying it… I really don’t want to force myself *insert cliche life is short* It has happened that I decided that maybe I’m just not in the mood for it and I’ll try again later, but it’s been two years since I tried to read American Gods and I still haven’t picked it up again. I really enjoyed Gaiman’s other books that I read though, so I might give it another chance someday (with the emphasis on someday)

Hyped/ Popular books you didn’t like?

Welllllll I no longer like Throne of Glass or the Shadowhunters books, but I never liked Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar children, so I’m going to go with that one. IΒ did like the first one, but after that the series went downhill for me.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Nah, I’m not ashamed of Β any of the books I read.

How many books do you own?

Uh I dunno? I’m sorry but I’m waaaay too lazy to count them haha

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

See the ‘how long does it take you to read a book’ question

Do you like to buddy read?

I haven’t really done it, but I like the concept of it!

Do you read better in your head or out loud?

Head. Honestly reading out loud sounds exhausting? I’m so lazy omg

If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

Don’t make me choose between my babies

AND THAT’S IT! Now who wants to confess next? If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged

Has someone ever stolen a (library) book from you? Do you have any horror stories surrounding damaged books? Let me know in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Forgive Me Books for I Have Sinned | The Reader Confession Tag

  1. Your gifs in this post are so on point :) Also, I feel the same way about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I feel like it would have been better as a standalone instead of a series.

    I’m so glad you did this tag!! :)

    • Yeah the finale of the third book could’ve been added to the first one, maybe with some other stuff as well, and it would’ve been a lot better. It’s such a shame too, with such an interesting concept!

      It was a lot of fun, thanks again fot tagging me :)

  2. I almost accidentally stole a library book myself πŸ˜…
    I thought I had brought it back and that the library had lost it somewhere. I remember that I went there and explained that I had DEFINITELY brought it back and that I hadn’t lost it. And they believed me and didn’t make me pay for it. And then, months later, I found the book under my bed because apparently I had lost it haha.
    I did bring it back in the end, I just put it on one of their shelves πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ

  3. I’m ashamed to admit I can bring very bad with library books!! Not as often as I used to be but I always used to read them quickly, put them away in a drawer in my room somewhere, and then I’ll be ‘meaning to return them’ for weeks and weeks until I get a warning to return themπŸ˜­πŸ˜‚
    Love this tag!

  4. I have a bookmark that slides onto the page, and I put my book in my bag and when I got it out again, half the page had been ripped from the binding because the bookmark had got stuck and forced it down 😱 I was very upset because I really liked the bookmark, but it kept on happening so I stopped using it πŸ˜” I’m reading Mis Peregrine’s at the moment and I did enjoy the first book, but I’m finding the second isn’t as fast paced, but it’s still fairly enjoyable. I can understand why it’s not for everyone though πŸ™‚

  5. #DONTBEASHAMEDFORWHATYOUREAD and also #DONTSHAMEPEOPLEFORWHATTHEYREAD

    Okay PSA moment over. I AM SUCH A SLOW READER I HATE IT. Some books will take less time, some books will take more, but overall I’m just slow. 😭 I like to read in my head because it’s faster, but reading out loud also helps me digest what I’m reading better??? πŸ˜‚ Great post!

    • YES I’M ON BOARD OF THAT CAMPAIGN. I hate it when people shame others for what they’re reading.

      Ahhhhh no :( I don’t think I’m a slow reader, but when I read how fast other bloggers read I know I’m not fast either lmao. HOW DO THEY READ SO FAST.
      Ohhh really? I’m too lazy to try it πŸ˜‚ Thanks!

  6. I’ve lost library books and I spilled orange juice on a coworker’s copy of Lolita that I borrowed. Hm I read the first Miss Peregrine, and I LOVED the beginning and the premise, but the ending was kind of disappointing. I bought the second one though hopefully it won’t be too bad.

    • Oh boy getting a library book stolen that one time is nothing compared to that haha.
      I know what you mean! I wasn’t that fond of the ending either, but since the rest was so good and had so much promise, I still really enjoyed it. Hopefully you’ll have a different experience with the rest of the trilogy than me :)

      • I wonder if the author ran out of steam or just didn’t know how to conclude it. From what I understand he wrote the story around pictures he randomly found, which is pretty amazing, and it worked for the majority of the narrative. I could have done without the romance between the protagonist and his, er, grandfather’s ex. That was a…little weird, but I suppose it’s YA, so you have to shoehorn in a romance somehow :p

      • Yeah I wonder about that as well. I really loved the pictures in the first book, but they felt really forced in the other two. Haha yeppp really could’ve done without that as well. Especially since it’s pointed out (multiple times I believe?) that the protagonist looks a lot like his grandfather when he was younger.

Send an owl

